We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new premises. Don't let the service slip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thava Indian Restaurant

Thava Indian Restaurant
44 The Avenue & Grove Road | Norwood, Johannesburg 2192, South Africa (Formerly Thava)
011 728 2826
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 754 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great new premises. Don't let the service slip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have been to Thava's many times and the food is always fantastic and the service usually courteous and slick. Last night was the first visit to their new restaurant just a block up from the original site. Although not quite finshed, the decor and ambience is great. Unfortubately, the service wasn't quite so good last night. Waiting times were quite long and when our food did arrive, 2 items were missing. One was reordered but took so long we had finished our meal by the time it arrived. The raita never arrived but was charged on the bill. Needless to say it was taken off when we pointed the error out. The waiter and manager were courteous and helpful. So we hope this was just a one off and that next time service will be back up to scratch.What food we had was of course delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Indian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my first sit-down meal after two take outs previously. Everything was delicious. Went with Indian friends who guided us and choices were great. Service was good, wine list good, decor a bit lacking though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A really good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a really delicious meal, sharing amongst 4 adults and a child. All of us found the food to be good value for money and service was attentive and good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best indian restaurant!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i have been to Thava many times and each time the food is of the highest standard, we never disappointed.
His favourite is the chicken tikka and kerala paratha.
I love the tapas option so always order two curries, i am vegetarian and the menu offers flavourful options from aloo gobi to breyani.
It seems no matter what we order the meal is always well flavoured, value for money and generous portions, especially the masala dosa.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I was told better than Mumbai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I visited Thava in Norwood under recommendation from a friend and was not disappointed . They new premises at 44 Grant avenue is large, and airy but still cosy. The food is freshly prepared and I was even invited to cook m y own bread in the open tandoor. Great experience and fantastic evening. Can wait to try the other one in Midrand

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thava Indian Restaurant also viewed

Midrand, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Thava Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thava Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.