We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finger-licking experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Picobella

Cafe Picobella
No 66, 4th Avenue Mellville, Johannesburg, South Africa
482 4309
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 725 restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Finger-licking experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Loved their chicken and creamed spinach, the best creamed mashed potatoes. Nice ambiance, friendly waitresses and owner who doesn't mind rolling his sleeves and getting the job done to please his customers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    7
    19
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The food is really good and not expensive. Is a place that I recommend if you want to have a nice dinner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great italian place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I ate here more than once on my trip to johannesburg. The pizzas were excellent. I would recommend this, especially if staying in Melville.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Calamari and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Dined here one evening in Melville. Seated right away. Friendly service and an attentive manager. Many interesting choices on the menu, the grilled calamari is highly recommended. Good wine list.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Melville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have had so many dinners there. It is one of the few places I know it will open everyday and will not close until 10pm even on a Sunday... (finally a normal place!)

The menu is full of delicious options and I can't remember a time I was disappointed.
The place is very inviting with a huge oven for the pizza and lots of candle lights. Both romantic and friendly. And if you smoke, there is always a special place for you!

Also don't forget to have a look at the wine list. You won't be disappointed.

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Picobella also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Melville, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe Picobella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Picobella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.