We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Mutual Gardens | Rosebank Mall, Shop 15, Johannesburg, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 767 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wilderness, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have always supported Ocean Basket as their food is aways good, and quite honestly, is really excellent value for money. It annoys me that other restaurants can charge almost double for their similar dishes, and just don't do it as well as Ocean Basket. The Village Salad is really good, and no matter what you order, whether it be a combo or just prawns or fish, the food is good.My only annoyance is being served my food to eat in a frying pan. I don't eat my food out of a frying pan at home so don't expect to eat out of one in a restaurant. But they can be forgiven for this. My latest visit was to Montecasino and the service was good. However my only gripe is that they serve frozen chips.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    41
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good seafood...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I always enjoy going to Ocean Basket as I know exactly what I'm going to get every time! Portions are a good size and the service is always excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

For a quick bite, Ocean Basket is fine. We were recently a fairly large group visiting the OB, and the service was not up to standard. Maybe it was the waiter, he did seem to have a hearing problem. Ocean Basket used to be my preferred fish venue, maybe I've had too much of their food, but I do not enjoy it anymore. It however remains good wholesome food - and I love their dedication to sustainable fisheries.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We love to go out to Ocean Basket, Brightwater Commons. The fish is always fresh and well prepared, table salad always the first dish we order. The chips need to be changed, not so nice. Overall a friendly and well managed place. Loved the Greek night we spend there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Food is always fresh, value for money. The staff and local diners are always well behaved. The food is great - the only problem is that they do not always cater for the large number of diners in a day and they run out of the complimentary bread before the main meal. Otherwise great resurant - one of my favourite as my friend is a vegeterian

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.