We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, authentic italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortellino D'Oro

Tortellino D'Oro
Oaklands Shopping Centre | C/o Pretoria Str & Victoria Road, Oaklands, Johannesburg, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 738 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian, International, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is really one of the best Italian restaurants I've been to in SA, the service and quality is incredible.

The store also has a great deli.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best italian made by mama!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is the best food BUT it is also very pricey- be warned!
I still go there, but everytime i am amazed at the prices- but the qulaity and taste are brilliant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brodo-licious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This family run Italian restaurant and deli are purveyors of the classics. Great ingredients, carefully and lovingly prepared. Try the toretllini in brodo (little stuffed pastas in a homemade broth)... It will have you wishing you had an Italian mamma.

The coffee they import is legendary.

Be sure to book if its Saturday.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“...if you have to ask the price....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at Tortellino for years and have always had the best food and service. This is the best Italian restaurant in South Africa and there is no restaurant that can come remotely close. As far as the prices, it is in the upper end of the price range but if you want the best you must be prepared to pay for it. To the previous reviewer who moaned about the prices I say "if you have to ask the price, you are in the wrong place darling! Perhaps you should be looking for a deal at the local Wimpy instead" don't listen to the cheapskates, go there for the quality which is abundant. As for the cats, that is a load of baloney - get a life.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I don't really get it. Am I missing something?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is supposed to be one of Johannesburg's finest Italian restaurants. And don't get me wrong, the food and service are very nice. But Tortellini D'Oro is extremely expensive and I am utterly put off by roaming stray cats in and around the tables. (That seems a little too 'peasant' for a place that charges a fortune of money for pasta.) I've never tried the deli area or the gelato, both of which are supposed to be superb, but as far as the restaurant goes, Pronto (Craighall Park) gives you a lot more for a lot less.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortellino D'Oro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Tortellino D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortellino D'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.