We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close as meat gets to perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turn 'n Tender, Illovo

Turn 'n Tender, Illovo
Thrupss Illovo Centre | 204 Oxford Rd, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 268 2107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 782 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As close as meat gets to perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The ribs are excellent and the Argentinian style steak with Chimchurri is amazing- as close to Argentina as SA will get!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Fillet steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was invited by localists to join an EXCELLENT experience of one of the best steaks I ever had! It was perfectly Medium done, pink, juicy and well served. Am going to recommend about this place to all my colleagues and anybody who happens to go to Jo'burg.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service that many restaurants could learn from.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the minute that we entered the doors the staff were upbeat and with such a superb atmosphere the food didn't have to be fabulous but it was.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sticky finger licking ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The ribs here are delicious. Rel finger licking good. Prices are relative to the portion therefore good value. They could improve on their service otherwise a d
Good night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If I feel like a steak I certain ly will try another staekhouse !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The food is rushed. The waiters are arrogant. I have had better meat at many well branded steakhouse. This steakhouse still runs on its old reputation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turn 'n Tender, Illovo also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Turn 'n Tender, Illovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turn 'n Tender, Illovo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.