We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn 'n Tender Bryanston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turn 'n Tender, Illovo

Turn 'n Tender, Illovo
Thrupss Illovo Centre | 204 Oxford Rd, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 268 2107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 736 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
White River, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Turn 'n Tender Bryanston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our family of six had dinner at the new Bryanston branch of Turn 'n Tender on Saturday 1st December and we will definitely go back there again soon! Four of us had starters, all of which were absolutely delicious and tasted like more! We had a variety of different steaks, sauces etc but they were all outstanding. The fresh veges served with the main meals were also really yummy. The service was excellent and the staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. All in all, a really super evening and a great venue.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    50
    38
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The bigger brother of the smaller parktown original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I only knew (and love) the smaller branch that is located in Parktown North, to my surprise the bigger one in Illovo does not fall short of the original.

I decided that the Point of Rump that was on the menu was a bit small for me (400g) so I requested a larger 600g portion. The waiter was happy to check and it was made available for me.
It arrived with a thin and perfect dry pepper crust and was eaten faster than imaginable.

The waiter came by every 10-15 mins just to make sure everything was alright, and I really appreciate good service and would definitely come back again if not only for the service.

We even got complimentary Jagger shots as a digestif, I would suggest giving Averna shots instead but that's just pesky of me :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great family steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Highly underrated family steakhouse...doesn't enjoy the same profile as Butcher's Grill or The Local Grill but easily beats both in terms of food quality and variety

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian selection, service and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Whenever I go for a special occasion we tend to select such a restaurant. I am vegetarian and the platter here is one of the best in JHB. Portions are always great. For a starch I usually select mash and T&T really make a lovely buttery one.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hi

I love the vibe, the service and the quality of the meat! Turn ‘n Tender has been going on for 35 years and has produced constant value for money. You have to book in advance.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turn 'n Tender, Illovo also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Turn 'n Tender, Illovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turn 'n Tender, Illovo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.