We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bigger brother of the smaller parktown original” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turn 'n Tender

Turn 'n Tender
Thrupss Illovo Centre | 204 Oxford Rd, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 268 2107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 817 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The bigger brother of the smaller parktown original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I only knew (and love) the smaller branch that is located in Parktown North, to my surprise the bigger one in Illovo does not fall short of the original.

I decided that the Point of Rump that was on the menu was a bit small for me (400g) so I requested a larger 600g portion. The waiter was happy to check and it was made available for me.
It arrived with a thin and perfect dry pepper crust and was eaten faster than imaginable.

The waiter came by every 10-15 mins just to make sure everything was alright, and I really appreciate good service and would definitely come back again if not only for the service.

We even got complimentary Jagger shots as a digestif, I would suggest giving Averna shots instead but that's just pesky of me :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great family steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Highly underrated family steakhouse...doesn't enjoy the same profile as Butcher's Grill or The Local Grill but easily beats both in terms of food quality and variety

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian selection, service and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Whenever I go for a special occasion we tend to select such a restaurant. I am vegetarian and the platter here is one of the best in JHB. Portions are always great. For a starch I usually select mash and T&T really make a lovely buttery one.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hi

I love the vibe, the service and the quality of the meat! Turn ‘n Tender has been going on for 35 years and has produced constant value for money. You have to book in advance.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

NIce chips. OK meat. No Castele draft, which is a shame. Service average. Worth a visit, just don't order the more expensive items on the menu as the best value is to be had at the more affordable end of the menu.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turn 'n Tender also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Turn 'n Tender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turn 'n Tender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.