We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star all the Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5 Star all the Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The best possible way to start off our honeymoon. We stayed in the Matiba Suite and it was enormous while still feeling cozy. Outdoor space with jacuzzi and lounge was great but too chilly this time of year.
Meals were wonderful, spa treatment was perfect. The old feel of the house was perfect, yet had all the modern touches needed.
Anyone landing from the long trip should stay at least one night here if you are continuing to Cape Town. It's a perfect stop off.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to congratulate you both once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    25
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
51
190
21
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed at The Residence for 3 nights last weekend. The visit to Johannesburg was just meant as a stopover on our way out to Hoedspruit for a safari. At first I thought 3 days spent in Johannesburg would be too much but by the last day we didn't want to leave. The rooms were beautiful, the staff was ever accommodating, and the food was fantastic.

Be warned, winters in South Africa get cold. The Residence staff does all that they can to keep you warm (roaring fires, hot water bottles in the bed, room heaters, etc) but it's best to prepare for the cold.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 4 and it was wonderful. We had a sitting room with fireplace as well as an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Joburg can certainly get cold. Thankfully we have a short winter with a few icy cold fronts but generally by 10am the temperatures are in the high teens to low twenties (64F to 75F) It’s the evenings and early mornings that can get as low as -2C (28F). We trust you enjoyed your trip to South Africa and that you had an enjoyable trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again hope to be able to welcome you back hopefully in the warm summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron oh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have traveled constantly for twenty years and have stayed my many five star hotels and resorts. None of them outshine this place when it comes to service. Great staff, great rooms, nice little bar, great food with a wonderful outdoor dining area. I stayed a another highly rated hotel on my way back through Joberg that I had previously booked and regretted not cancelling and staying at the Residence again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent one night here and had a great experience. It's a beautiful, meandering property with lovely grounds. We were so impressed with our service at check-in and in the piano bar (as well as exhausted from our travels, honestly) that we canceled our dinner reservations for that evening and ate at the hotel restaurant instead. Excellent fare and, again, impeccable service. We had an early start the next morning for our tours and intended to leave our bags at the front desk, returning for them mid-afternoon, but when they called our room to notify us that our driver had arrived, they insisted that we not worry about our bags and keep the room through the afternoon. This was totally unsolicited but much appreciated. Kudos to a great team!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really appreciate your feedback and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try and make our clients stay with us as easy, confortable and enjoyable as possible. From all of us here at The Residnece we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Where do I begin?! My husband and I arrived after spending a weekend in Cape Town from America. Our plans were to stay for almost one week. Lucky picked us up from the airport; he was kind, professional, courteous and helpful. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a choice of either ice tea or sherry served in beautiful glasses. We were guests in the penthouse - AMAZING! The staff ensured that the outdoor jacuzzi was warm and had turned on the jets of the tub ahead of our arrival - Impressive! Upon entering our suite, it was breathtakingly warm and chic. There was beautiful harmonic music playing on the c.d. player to help ease us into our state of relaxation - It Worked!! The bathroom was meticulous and was decorated with little details that only an establishment that's thought of everything would offer. Our king size bed was very comfortable and had warmers under the covers! There was a skylight over the bed that gave us the option of keeping it opened or closing it - We kept it opened, so that we could see the stars at night and the sun in the morning! There is also an outdoor tub with jets and an outdoor shower! I spent many mornings bathing with the sounds and beauty of nature. We enjoyed lunch the following day sitting in a glass atrium with a lovely view of the tennis court and koi pond. Did I mention that we sat under a beautiful and elegant crystal chandelier? There are chandeliers throughout this property. The deck, (yes the deck), the dining room, the sitting room with the piano, the Madiba room, Oh My Goodness! We got the feeling that no cost was spared. The priority of The Residence is the comfort of the guest. The staff - AMAZING!! Emmanuel, Martin, Daniel, Ramboe, Charity, the Chef and Ethan - The Best! I had a massage with Zengi when I awoke she said giggly that I was so relaxed that I was snoring :-)! I say baby snoring :-). She was truly the BEST masseuse I've ever had; she was thorough, patient and kind! And, then there is The Residence manager Sanet... She is confident, kind, friendly, accommodating, just a beautiful person inside and out! Thank you all so much!! To the owner of The Residence, WELL DONE!!! He too was very personable; he greeted us during our stay, and bid us a very personal fare well upon our departure. My husband and I have traveled the world, Europe, Israel, North Africa, Russia, China, Japan, Dubai, Brazil, America, the Caribbean Islands, Tahiti. We've been Blessed to stay in many fine boutique hotels, fine hotels and resorts. My husband and I agree that for the value, we really got a 6 star luxury hotel inside of a swanky gated mansion that will undoubtedly become our South African home away from home during our visits to Johannesburg!! At the end of our stay, we both wanted to stay longer!! To the Top Hat, tuxedo wearing gate keeper - BRAVO! To the gentleman who drove us back to the airport - I am so proud of your desire to give the best service by being the best! Thank you all So Much!! You are not only appreciated, You Are Loved!! XO

Room Tip: Choose The Residence and The Rest Will Undoubtedly Speak For Itself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do appreciate it, but more importantly, it was wonderful meeting you both. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to receive confirmation that our efforts are noticed and appreciated, so thank you very much. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future. Until then from all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you both all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was impressed by the decor,the details,and service. Our suite #5 has an outside jacuzzi. The overall hotel is nicely decorated. They offer you transfers from the airport and within the city in the car of your choice, Roll Royse, Mercedes ( yes, I am serious)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really appreciate it but more importantly are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

After spending 15 hour on a flight,any hotel might do. When entering most hotels, however, you have to be processed. Not at the Residence. You enter what feels like your living room, complete with a grand piano and go to your room. And what a room. We had an entry level luxury room which at this hotel means an outdoor patio, fountain, hot tub and a few steps down, you enter a grand bedroom with sitting room and large bathroom adjoining. Now you know you're on vacation! Our room overlooked a lovely patio and garden--wait--this is better than home!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Mr James Maxx
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to kick start your vacation for you. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you had a pleasant trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.