We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Service !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Essen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary Service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Probably the most special experience and warmest atmosphere I've been allowed to witness so far. We've felt very welcome from the start of our stay until the very end. Upon arrival I've busted the tire of our rental car in front of the residence and even before we've been introduced to our room, the staff waisted no time at all and insisted on taking care of my car and change the tire!
Afterwards we were welcomed with complementary brandy and self made iced tea, before being introduced to the staff.
The interior is made up of a unique, elegant but discrete style, which makes one feel as if you're in a private home. Every detail was just right. Each room has such a welcoming and warm atmosphere to it, it really makes you forget you're in a Hotel.
Since my job requires me to travel a lot, I probably stay in hotels up to 150 days a year and I've experienced my fair share of good service but nothing quite like this. Even the exchange of our car was personally taken care of by the owner, who called up the rental company in the morning, printed out directions for us and made sure we were to be treated "V.I.P" . I could just go on and on and on about this wonderful location, be it the breakfast, the tennis court out back or the outdoor bath tup.
Thank you so much for making our stay such a pleasant and unforgettable experience.
We will make sure to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your amazing review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure assisting you with your car and trust the rest of your trip went well. We look forward to welcoming you back someday in the near future and would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
128
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've read the reviews and our one Sunday night experience was not equal to the raves. There are no elevators and, being partially handicapped, negotiation of the multiple levels to get to our room was difficult at best. Check-in was a bit confused, the room was comfortable and clean but a broken lamp, a non-functioning television and some missing amenities spoiled the ambiance.

It may have been the hour of the day, but we had to wander a bit to find a spot for cocktails and then a waiter. The food at dinner and breakfast was above average and nicely presented, but not such that we would stay there just for it.

Check out was similarly non-gracious.

My bottom line is my rating is based upon its potential. The reality is that the staff have taken their clippings and reviews too seriously.

Room Tip: If handicapped, stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback. We really do appreciate and value your input. We will be sure to address your concerns and will make sure our website provides further clarity on our facilities.
We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a truly excellent hotel. It is in a residential area and very quiet. We arrived about 9AM in the morning and our room was ready. We had only one night there and it was very memorable…from the very comfortable room to the truly excellent ambiance and food at the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and met us at the airport upon arrival as arranged. We only really had time for one venue in Johannesburg and the hotel driver took us to the Apartheid Museum, which (as Americans) we highly recommend. It was a great stay. My initial concern was that there were no convenient restaurant options. Trust us, you will not need any options as the food is absolutely excellent. We thought the pricing, although not inexpensive, was proportional to the quality of the room, hotel amenities and the restaurant. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Johannesburg. Mid-October 2013.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had a enjoyable trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford ON Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Don't be thinking that these reviews are spam from the hotel. This place is truly outstanding. The staff really cares and remembers your name even when we returned after 8 days. The food is great, the ambiance is serene, the rooms spectacular. I am trying to find an excuse to go back to Joburg just so I can stay here again. For a very reasonable price they will pick you up at the airport in a Rolls Royce too if you want a taste of being spoiled as soon as you arrive.

Room Tip: all the rooms are awesome but the pool villa or the penthouse are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your wonderful review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you are able to find an excuse to visit again in the near future. Until then we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Center, Vermont
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arriving at The Residence at 8AM after a grueling series of flights, we were warmly greeted by every member of the staff we encountered. Due to our early arrival, I had some fear that we would not be able to check into our room for quite some time, a prospect that caused me and my wife some anxiety as we had been traveling for about 30 hours and had been awake even longer. Such was not the case however, as we were informed our room would be ready shortly, but would we like breakfast first. The answer to that was a heartfelt "yes!" on my part, and we were taken to a beautifully bright and appointed dining room where a cart with charcuterie, various cereals, yogurts, pastries and fruit was wheeled to our table. But that was not breakfast! We then ordered full breakfast from a menu. Everything was delicious. We were then led to our room - The Pool Villa. Stunning. This consisted of a large bedroom, gigantic closet done up in dark wood with full built-ins, wonderful bathroom, and VERY large living room or salon with several couches, chairs, and a fireplace. Additionally, the "room" enjoys an outdoor shower and hot tub, immediately adjacent to, but completely secluded from, the hotel's pool. After enjoying these amenities, and taking a much-needed nap, my wife and I spent the majority of a very stormy afternoon in the piano bar, a very cosy, relaxing locale. We elected to eat dinner at the hotel's restaurant, again a first-class dining experience. We were scheduled to leave The Residence early the next morning to continue on our vacation. We had such an enjoyable time here that we were actually loathe to leave and wished that our itinerary had kept us there longer. Although we saw nothing of Johannesburg, it being merely a point of entry into the rest of our vacation, this hotel has left us with extremely pleasant memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you had a pleasant flight back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Residence was the first stop of our two week South African adventure, and we could not have asked for a better venue. After receiving many mixed reviews about Johannesburg in general, The Residence provided us with an amazing experience. The rooms are large and beautiful, the service is impeccable, and the grounds provided us with exactly what we needed to adjust. The staff went above and beyond every time we had a request - one of the bartenders even followed us around with a tray of martinis while we were exploring all the different spots of the hotel (and he didn't spill a drop when he finally found us settled on the roof top). They also arranged for all of our transportation around Johannesburg, providing us with the same driver to and from dinner to ease our safety concerns. We highly recommend this to anyone visiting Joburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Most importantly is that no martinis were spilt.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is as good as advertised! The hotel itself is great but it’s the staff that makes the difference. Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms are incredible and very relaxing. Every night was a debate to eat out or just enjoy the hotel. The breakfast is perfect!

The hotel is located in a nice suburban area. You will need to take a taxi to almost all destinations but they can arrange cars for you. I would definitely stay here next time we are in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to welcome you back in the near furture.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.