We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel; excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel; excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Residence was the first stop of our two week South African adventure, and we could not have asked for a better venue. After receiving many mixed reviews about Johannesburg in general, The Residence provided us with an amazing experience. The rooms are large and beautiful, the service is impeccable, and the grounds provided us with exactly what we needed to adjust. The staff went above and beyond every time we had a request - one of the bartenders even followed us around with a tray of martinis while we were exploring all the different spots of the hotel (and he didn't spill a drop when he finally found us settled on the roof top). They also arranged for all of our transportation around Johannesburg, providing us with the same driver to and from dinner to ease our safety concerns. We highly recommend this to anyone visiting Joburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Most importantly is that no martinis were spilt.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    24
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
45
164
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is as good as advertised! The hotel itself is great but it’s the staff that makes the difference. Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms are incredible and very relaxing. Every night was a debate to eat out or just enjoy the hotel. The breakfast is perfect!

The hotel is located in a nice suburban area. You will need to take a taxi to almost all destinations but they can arrange cars for you. I would definitely stay here next time we are in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to welcome you back in the near furture.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here two nights after two months of safari. It was like dying and going to heavan. We had a "standard" suite which was so luxurious with everything you could ask for including an outside tub and shower. The service was impeccable and the food delicious. Our dinners and breakfasts were truly outstanding. The hotel has two pools one heated and one no and also has a spa, fitness center and tennis court. We never left the premises -n no reason to. I hope some day I can return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for you review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay after traveling 15 hours from Manila to Johannesburg. Our flight arrived early in the morning and we chose the Residence as we wanted to be comfortable and well rested for our flight to Botswana the next day.

LOCATION: In a residential neighborhood so there's really nothing to do or see once you step outside except maybe, Nelson Mandela's home, which is a few blocks away. The city center is supposedly a 20 min car ride away. It worked for our group as we really had no intention of exploring the city or venturing out.

ROOMS: Beautiful rooms. We had 4 rooms total and and they were all different from one another. Most, if not, all had outdoor showers and/or a tub and an outdoor patio. It was a cozy sort of luxury - no grand lobby or front desk - but many well-appointed and elegant rooms and spaces.

FACILITIES: Gym was tiny but I was surprised there even was a gym. Nice pool, tennis court, and gardens. I liked the sky bar/roof desk the best! It was beautifully decorated, as well, and a cozy space to have drinks and/or just hang out with family and friends.

FOOD: We had all our meals here. 2 breakfasts, 1 lunch, and 1 dinner. Food was very good and well presented. Not to mention the fact that the dining room was just as beautiful as the rest of the rooms.

SERVICE: Excellent. Everyone was extremely warm and friendly - the reservations team (from when I first made a booking via email), porters, drivers, gardeners, waiters, chef, cleaning ladies. The drivers who picked us up and brought us to the airport were very friendly and entertaining. They even pointed out sights along the way and shared some insights on South africa's economy and people when we told them it was our first time there.

If you love the feeling of being a home but, without having to sacrifice the service and luxury of being at a 5-star hotel...you'll love The Residence as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the feedback.
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope you had an enjoyable trip back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at The Residence while on a business trip and it was one of my favorite hotels to date. The price was very reasonable especially compared to other "corporate hotels" that my company would have paid for and the service and experience was far better and more personalized than any of the chain hotels. The service that was provided throughout the week with regards to the front desk, room service, and dining service (breakfast, cocktail hour and dinner) was amazing. I have recommended to friends and family and will definitely stay there again when going back to J-Burg.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Pool House which was separate from the other rooms. Very quiet, secluded and you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. We trust you had a successful business trip and hope you had an enjoyable trip back home.
All the very best and thank you once again from all of us here at The Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thank you Sanette, Charity, Warren and all of the amazing staff of The Residence. I returned for a third visit and brought my colleagues as we traveled on business. They were taken aback at the quiet beauty and amazing service that we experienced. The rooms with their secluded and amazing outdoor space, the gardens, the dining areas, the many many retreats within the hotel create comfort and a subtle sense of luxuriousness. The food is wonderful and elegantly presented. But the staff earn the stars. They are tireless in anticipating your needs, gracious and helpful at all turns. They take pride in their work and rightly so! All of this is accomplished without stuffiness. It is a comfortable place. I recommend it as the best without the slightest hesitation and was proud to bring my colleagues and friends to share it with me. A solo traveler would be very comfortable here, as well. They also arrange transportation to and from the airport and the drivers are most helpful, often offering to show you sights along the way, such as Mr. Mandela's home. Again, the quality and graciousness are evident in all experiences with The Residence.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for the kind of ourdoor space you might most enjoy. Some are expansive with outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really and truly do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We trust you had a successful business trip and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

WOW! I can't even begin to describe how amazing this hotel is. We stayed for 2 nights, and then loved it so much we made sure we stayed our last night in SA there again. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room, and wish we could have stayed even longer. From the moment you arrive at The Residence the level of service is outstanding. Nothing is ever too much for the staff here, and as one of them quoted to me "anything is possible, at The Residence". The food is amazing, the Chef even came out to meet the diners, and everything is top quality. This is by far the best hotel I have ever had the chance to stay in - highly recommended, and we cant wait to come back and stay again. Well done to you all, you are the people that make The Residence so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back someday in the near future.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.