We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A third sublime experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Montague
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A third sublime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thank you Sanette, Charity, Warren and all of the amazing staff of The Residence. I returned for a third visit and brought my colleagues as we traveled on business. They were taken aback at the quiet beauty and amazing service that we experienced. The rooms with their secluded and amazing outdoor space, the gardens, the dining areas, the many many retreats within the hotel create comfort and a subtle sense of luxuriousness. The food is wonderful and elegantly presented. But the staff earn the stars. They are tireless in anticipating your needs, gracious and helpful at all turns. They take pride in their work and rightly so! All of this is accomplished without stuffiness. It is a comfortable place. I recommend it as the best without the slightest hesitation and was proud to bring my colleagues and friends to share it with me. A solo traveler would be very comfortable here, as well. They also arrange transportation to and from the airport and the drivers are most helpful, often offering to show you sights along the way, such as Mr. Mandela's home. Again, the quality and graciousness are evident in all experiences with The Residence.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for the kind of ourdoor space you might most enjoy. Some are expansive with outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really and truly do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We trust you had a successful business trip and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    24
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
45
166
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

WOW! I can't even begin to describe how amazing this hotel is. We stayed for 2 nights, and then loved it so much we made sure we stayed our last night in SA there again. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room, and wish we could have stayed even longer. From the moment you arrive at The Residence the level of service is outstanding. Nothing is ever too much for the staff here, and as one of them quoted to me "anything is possible, at The Residence". The food is amazing, the Chef even came out to meet the diners, and everything is top quality. This is by far the best hotel I have ever had the chance to stay in - highly recommended, and we cant wait to come back and stay again. Well done to you all, you are the people that make The Residence so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back someday in the near future.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Residence while on our honeymoon in SA. It is a beautiful boutique hotel in a lovely neighborhood. It was convenient to many neighborhoods. Service and breakfast were top notch. Room 3 had a private outdoor shower and soaking tub. Very romantic. The room was on the small side and wouldn't be suitable for families. Wish we had more time to spend at the hotel and to check out the spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and most importantly glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If only we had availability to upgrade you to one of our suites. They are much larger and can easily accommodate a family. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and from all of us here at The Residence we would like to congratulate you once again and wish you both all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

All the reviewers are spot on about this property. Compared to large chains(Shangri-la, Intercon, and the rest) this place is a breath of fresh air! From the moment you arrive at the airport to the minute you are dropped off, you feel well taken care of and spoiled!

The rooms are well appointed with great amenities, a nespresso machine, and super comfy beds. The night turn down is a treat as well! I had a few meals, and all were top notch - just as good as any high end establishment you would find in NY/DC. Breakfast in the room is such a delight, and the spa services are really good(thank you Cindy!)The staff is warm, welcoming and sincere. Keith, Charity, Lucky, Warren...they are all great.

They can arrange tours and transfers, and as a woman travelling alone on business, I felt very safe. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you so much for providing us with your lovely review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to welcome you back someday in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We only stayed here for two nights on our way in and out of South Africa, but wished it would have been longer. We stayed in two of their luxury suites with terraces (one with a hot tub) and they were beautiful. The service was excellent!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a beautiful terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to welcome you back someday in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Residence for both of our layover nights. This is an excellent place to stay. Amazing rooms with an African feel – outdoor showers and baths but very upscale. Food is amazing. Staff is excellent. They pick you up at the airport and take you back in either a Rolls Royce Silver Shadow or a very nice Mercedes Van. After a safari in tents or Mozambique in the lodge it is exactly what you need – you are pampered.
The dining room and the spa are also excellent....make time for both.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best from all of us here at The Residence.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels as we travel a lot. I cannot find one negative thing to say about this place. I have never been treated so well. I felt like royalty. All the staff could not do enough for you. The place is gorgeous in every way. There is not one detail they have missed. We did not see any of Johannesburg as we did not want to leave the hotel and we were so sad when we did have to leave. They had different bath salts and they light some scented oil and a leave a great treat at turndown which is a wonderful surprise! If you go to Johannesburg, you must stay at this place. I cannot say enough about the staff and accommodations. I had high expectations because of trip advisor and they were exceeded. Absolutely incredible! Good job everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had a enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best from all of us here at The Residence.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.