We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A former embassy as a boutique hotel - very cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A former embassy as a boutique hotel - very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

very cool hotel with extremely nice staff. Lucky, the driver is especially nice. He seems to be a very happy man indeed. The rooms are spacious and clean. I stayed in room number 5 which has a spacious terrace and an outside shower as well as a Jacuzzi. Great experience to take a shower in the morning sun which when it rises is directly on the shower spot - very well planned.
I will definitely return to this place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Until next time, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    25
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
51
191
21
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Where one has the luxury to stay at global brand hotels such as the Four Seasons, One and Only, Oberoi etc...you get used to what they consider you to be a guest and the service that entails. They are excellent. The Residence though is on another level. This place has a soul that effortlessly combines the past with the modern day. As standard, the food, cocktails and service are first rate, but when one has time to look beyond that, the subtle touches in artwork, decor, water features, rich colors of fabric etc. help you to feel at ease. If you wish for the glamour and attention, this place is not for you, but if you want to be wrapped in home comfort and warmth then this is your place....exceptional.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with such an amazing review. We really and truly do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day soon.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place was absolutely gorgeous. We arrived late in the afternoon, so didn't have an opportunity to try out the pool (which was covered over not long after our arrival). Everything was absolutely 5 star, but... It seemed to lack the friendliness & warmth of other places we visited in SA. Don't get me wrong, the staff were lovely, but they seemed to spend so much time ensuring everything was perfect, they didn't have time to have fun interaction with the guests. The service was impeccable, but we would have preferred more character & interaction with the staff. This is not a complaint, but we had come to love the people of South Africa and their infectious enthusiasm, and just didn't feel it here. This interaction with the locals is more important to us than the 5 star rating. Also, we were refused a late checkout, so ended up going to the airport earlier than anticipated as there was more to do. On the plus side, the hotel itself was beautiful and luxurious. Maybe just let the staff be themselves? The locals are the reason we come !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a spa on your private outdoor deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate it. We do cover the one pool due to it being a heated pool but this is only around 6pm. It would have been an absolute pleasure to remove the cover should you have wished to swim. Regarding our staff members, we encourage them to be themselves and interact with the guests. My only explanation would be that they were busy or that you were served by one of our more shy individuals.
Thank you once again and hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home.
Kindest regards,
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Residence is as good as people say. Our room had its own deck and spa (not that the 0 degrees overnight allowed us to use it.)

The service is warm and inviting, the restuarant was very good indeed and as the other reviews mention the attention to small details like the chocolates, hot water bottle and the best breakfast probably we've ever had, make all the difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you are able to visit us again during the summer months so that you can enjoy our outside areas.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night to recharge, before continuing onto a 2 week camping safari. All the staff made us feel most welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Lucky picked us up from the airport and we had an impromptu tour of Johannesburg including seeing Nelson Mandela's house. The hotel is beautiful and sectioned in such a way as to provide tranquil areas. Our room was amazing including our own hot tub, outdoor shower and lovely toiletries. Great food and a surprise Amarula cream at bedtime topped off a blissful days R&R. I can confidently say this is the best hotel we've ever stayed in and we can't recommend it enough. Thank you to the Residence staff!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong... I think we were in room 5 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Firstly, I hesitate to repeat the fanstastic reviews that have come before me - that said - they are all true.

We have travelled all over the world, and thus have a relatively high standard in terms of balancing service, charm and making one feel at home. The Residence fulfils them all.

The one thing most notable to me was the dining. The coffee, the warm plates, the cold drinks were are perfect temperatures. The food was delicious.

The property is lovely, especially the garden and the sky bar.

Bravo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and more importantly the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a stunning hotel from the moment you are picked-up to the moment you leave. Every detail is meticulous looked after. A hot water bottle in your bed with a chocolate, breakfast buffet is brought right to your table, dining room is warm and comfortable and the service is absolutely outstanding. I'll definitely be returning and will be staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.