We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Haven of tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night to recharge, before continuing onto a 2 week camping safari. All the staff made us feel most welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Lucky picked us up from the airport and we had an impromptu tour of Johannesburg including seeing Nelson Mandela's house. The hotel is beautiful and sectioned in such a way as to provide tranquil areas. Our room was amazing including our own hot tub, outdoor shower and lovely toiletries. Great food and a surprise Amarula cream at bedtime topped off a blissful days R&R. I can confidently say this is the best hotel we've ever stayed in and we can't recommend it enough. Thank you to the Residence staff!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong... I think we were in room 5 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    22
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
152
17
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Firstly, I hesitate to repeat the fanstastic reviews that have come before me - that said - they are all true.

We have travelled all over the world, and thus have a relatively high standard in terms of balancing service, charm and making one feel at home. The Residence fulfils them all.

The one thing most notable to me was the dining. The coffee, the warm plates, the cold drinks were are perfect temperatures. The food was delicious.

The property is lovely, especially the garden and the sky bar.

Bravo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and more importantly the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a stunning hotel from the moment you are picked-up to the moment you leave. Every detail is meticulous looked after. A hot water bottle in your bed with a chocolate, breakfast buffet is brought right to your table, dining room is warm and comfortable and the service is absolutely outstanding. I'll definitely be returning and will be staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent 1 night at the Residence Boutique Hotel in 2 separate occasions. Both times we were picked up at the airport by a limo sent by the hotel, which was very convenient and reassuring, considering the safety issues in Johannesburg. The hotel is located in an upscale area of the city, but like all other properties in that area, is surrounded by about 15 foot high walls with barbed wire. Inside, we felt very safe and were welcomed by an extensive professional staff. There are several people to greet you, offer you a drink or a fresh towel; almost too much, even though every one is very nice. The first night we were upgraded at no extra charge to the Penthouse, an amazing suite with a private very large terrace, a jacuzzi, an outdoor shower, and much more. The room was well decorated and comfortable; the bathroom, while not very large, had been recently redone in a nice modern style. The next day, we got a ride to the airport by the hotel driver in a Rolls Royce! The drive was very friendly, and he picked us up again at the airport when we came back a few days later. At our return, we stayed in a different room, a large but older suite in a different part of the building that appears to result from the combination of several houses. This may explain the fact that there are a number of changes in floor level and a lot of steps and sunken rooms throughout the hotel. Our marble bathroom was large and clean but outdated. The windows of the room could not close completely and let a little bit of the cold air come in. The hotel arranged our trips to and from the airport (we highly recommend the hotel transportation for safety and convenience) and to one of the downtown shopping centers for a reasonable fee. They also stored our bags for three days between our stays. We had dinner twice in the hotel; the service was good; the food was decent, reasonably priced, but not at the level expected for this type of hotel. Overall, we found the hotel very convenient and safe, serviced by a professional staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We aim to provide our guests with an excellent experience and your feedback aids in us continuously refining our product.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have just got back from a couple of nights staying at The Residence, and it was fantastic. My room was not quite ready when I arrived, but fortunately I got upgraded to The Penthouse, which was amazing. The Breakfast was fantastic, and upon finding that I had forgot to pack enough socks, the hotel got me some (no service charge). I also had a couple of shirts pressed (no service charge), had a couple of small cans of coke (no charge)...Sherry and fruit in the room - no charge.....

Its the little things that you DON'T get charged for that makes the difference - I would rather pay a little more upfront.

The only negative - I write from another 5 Star Hotel - And its just not the same.......I will be back real soon...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had an enjoyable trip back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the moment we were picked up by Lucky at the airport to final goodbye's at checking out, The Residence made us feel special and part of the family. This is a hotel worthy of being called exceptional and brilliant. The decor is warm, welcoming and full of history, not to mention comfortable. The grounds and orchids everywhere give one the sense of being in a carefully tended botanical garden. We were weary travelers welcomed with an offer of breakfast, a beautiful room, room service on the terrace and every detail perfectly managed and executed with generosity and genuine care. This is a place worthy of all the praise it has received and deserves to be on any list of Best Boutique Hotels in the world. Breakfasts and dinners were served with care, and everyone wanted to make sure we had what we needed or wanted. It was the perfect start to our South Africa journey, and we only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The rooms with the outdoor spa tubs and shower are a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with such an amazing review. We really do appreciate it and more importantly glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The staff here were al friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has a nice ambience, and our room (Room 9) was huge with an equally large bathroom. It has the atmosphere of an English country house - not state of the art modern, but very comfortable. The area is quiet and our bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice, with a collation of cold foods and juices provided on a tray next to your table, while the hot food is prepared - but you need to be specific about your order - if you want toast with your eggs, you must ask for it. We dined with friends one evening and found the food and service very good (the steaks are very tender and generous size). There are two swimming pools (one heated), a tennis court and a small fitness room. Overall, a very relaxing place to stay in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Room 9 was huge and had an equally huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We aim to provide our clients with an excellent experience and your feedback aids in our constant refining of our product.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.