We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Money Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Old Money Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Rolls Royce in the garage starts the ambiance. I took hubby away for a quick break. We chose the room with a Jacuzzi and even though it was winter, we sat there until we had "old lady skin". The fireplace had been on and a glass of sherry in front of it made one warm all over. Everything was top class, from the bathroom products provided to the entertainment system. The staff were friendly and helpful and meals made one feel like the king and queen. The spa was reasonably priced and the therapist really knew what she was doing. I had winter burn (from the dry winter) on my face and it was sorted by the time she had finished with me. Check out was efficient. Definitely going there in summer.

Room Tip: The room we chose with the Jacuzzi is separate from the rest of the house- so we found it very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

All the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    23
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
158
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los gatos, ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After two weeks in the bush, we arrived at The Residence to be greeted with a refreshment towel and sherry. Then straight to the room without having to fill in annoying forms. The suite was stunning, with all the amenities. The bar was super comfy, the restaurant's food excellent, and the staff accommodating without being obsequious. Especially helpful was Charity, who managed every detail. The location is removed from downtown, but we just wanted to get refreshed and relaxed before 22 hours of flight time, so staying on the grounds was perfect. The price was very reasonable, making this an even more enjoyable stay. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Number five was away from all others and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely meeting you and we hope you had a enjoyable trip back home.

Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Converted from several residential houses you soon feel at home. Wherever you turn there are cosy sofa areas, places to settle in front of a roaring fire in the winter, or in the cooling shade in the summer. With the spread out feel the rooms feel private, yet not remote.

Breakfast is served in the 'dining room' with a wide range of continental options presented table-side, and a range of excellent hot dishes, cooked to order. The rooms have many small but nice touches, from complementary soft drinks and fruits to the hot water bottles tucked under the covers if you stay in the winter.

The hotel has its own driver/transport which makes getting around Jo'burg easy. If you don't feel like venturing out eating at the hotel is also a joy, from choosing whether you would like the formality of the dining room, or one of the more casual spaces. The menu has a wide mix of both casual and more complex dishes.

With two pools, a tennis court and a small gym there are plenty of ways to burn off energy (and breakfast). One small word of warning, if you aren't used to e altitude, allow yourself to acclimatise before exerting too much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We hope you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to be able to welcome you back someday soon.

All the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are looking class, quality, opulence, luxury and all things beautiful, then the Residence boutique hotel is all that and so much more. My company recently held a day away session at this venue and everything was pure perfection. The meeting venue, the service, the delish food and that personal touch is what its all about.

The staff are amazing and extremely helpful and friendly. Excellent service has a new name and its all at the Residence. I would recommend this venue for getaways, small team buildings where you can relax and unwind using their awesome facilities, like the spa and not to forget the awesome sky bar, with sunbeds and jacuzzi overlooking the suburb of Houton.

Room Tip: Rooms are private, quite and easily accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Manager at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our property. It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again someday soon.

All the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN MARCOS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wow! What a pleasant surprise, as the most reasonable price is definitely not indicative of what you get. Each room is a suite, and with so many places to converse, entertain, eat, etc., it is very easy to start imagining you are the only guest, even when the place is full. Luxurious ambience, attention to detail, excellent food, accommodating staff who remember your name from day one, swimming pools, jacuzzis (yes privateK), spa of course, tennis court, grand pianos (yes-many), fireplaces always inviting, and full bar...all this behind a secure wall and agate - very safe. If Mandela chose to live in this neighborhood it must be safe!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it. More importantly is that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back again some day soon.
All the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa. We were looking for a place to stay and relax before setting out on our safari adventure. We arrived late one evening and stayed for two nights. Our stay was spectacular. We stayed in one of the penthouse suites - huge outdoor private patio with great room. The food was great. The staff's attention to detail second to none. We were able to coordinate some dietary needs in advance.

Highly recommend this for a private, relaxing stay. Great job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review, we really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the rest of your trip around South Africa was a great experience.
From all of us at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel based off the reviews from TripAdvisor and in all honesty, it is what the reviews say and more. This was my first time to South Africa (Johannesburg). The rooms are big, the dining room is magnificent and the surroundings make you feel like you're at home. All of the staff there are fabulous - and went out of their way to make sure that I was well taken care of - and I can't thank them enough!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was really lovely meeting you and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had an enjoyable trip back home and thank you once again for your review. We really do appreciate it.

From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and hope to welcome you back some day soon.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.