We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Money Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old Money Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Rolls Royce in the garage starts the ambiance. I took hubby away for a quick break. We chose the room with a Jacuzzi and even though it was winter, we sat there until we had "old lady skin". The fireplace had been on and a glass of sherry in front of it made one warm all over. Everything was top class, from the bathroom products provided to the entertainment system. The staff were friendly and helpful and meals made one feel like the king and queen. The spa was reasonably priced and the therapist really knew what she was doing. I had winter burn (from the dry winter) on my face and it was sorted by the time she had finished with me. Check out was efficient. Definitely going there in summer.

Room Tip: The room we chose with the Jacuzzi is separate from the rest of the house- so we found it very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

All the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
los gatos, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After two weeks in the bush, we arrived at The Residence to be greeted with a refreshment towel and sherry. Then straight to the room without having to fill in annoying forms. The suite was stunning, with all the amenities. The bar was super comfy, the restaurant's food excellent, and the staff accommodating without being obsequious. Especially helpful was Charity, who managed every detail. The location is removed from downtown, but we just wanted to get refreshed and relaxed before 22 hours of flight time, so staying on the grounds was perfect. The price was very reasonable, making this an even more enjoyable stay. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Number five was away from all others and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely meeting you and we hope you had a enjoyable trip back home.

Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Converted from several residential houses you soon feel at home. Wherever you turn there are cosy sofa areas, places to settle in front of a roaring fire in the winter, or in the cooling shade in the summer. With the spread out feel the rooms feel private, yet not remote.

Breakfast is served in the 'dining room' with a wide range of continental options presented table-side, and a range of excellent hot dishes, cooked to order. The rooms have many small but nice touches, from complementary soft drinks and fruits to the hot water bottles tucked under the covers if you stay in the winter.

The hotel has its own driver/transport which makes getting around Jo'burg easy. If you don't feel like venturing out eating at the hotel is also a joy, from choosing whether you would like the formality of the dining room, or one of the more casual spaces. The menu has a wide mix of both casual and more complex dishes.

With two pools, a tennis court and a small gym there are plenty of ways to burn off energy (and breakfast). One small word of warning, if you aren't used to e altitude, allow yourself to acclimatise before exerting too much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We hope you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to be able to welcome you back someday soon.

All the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are looking class, quality, opulence, luxury and all things beautiful, then the Residence boutique hotel is all that and so much more. My company recently held a day away session at this venue and everything was pure perfection. The meeting venue, the service, the delish food and that personal touch is what its all about.

The staff are amazing and extremely helpful and friendly. Excellent service has a new name and its all at the Residence. I would recommend this venue for getaways, small team buildings where you can relax and unwind using their awesome facilities, like the spa and not to forget the awesome sky bar, with sunbeds and jacuzzi overlooking the suburb of Houton.

Room Tip: Rooms are private, quite and easily accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Manager at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our property. It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again someday soon.

All the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN MARCOS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wow! What a pleasant surprise, as the most reasonable price is definitely not indicative of what you get. Each room is a suite, and with so many places to converse, entertain, eat, etc., it is very easy to start imagining you are the only guest, even when the place is full. Luxurious ambience, attention to detail, excellent food, accommodating staff who remember your name from day one, swimming pools, jacuzzis (yes privateK), spa of course, tennis court, grand pianos (yes-many), fireplaces always inviting, and full bar...all this behind a secure wall and agate - very safe. If Mandela chose to live in this neighborhood it must be safe!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayMVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it. More importantly is that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back again some day soon.
All the very best from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa. We were looking for a place to stay and relax before setting out on our safari adventure. We arrived late one evening and stayed for two nights. Our stay was spectacular. We stayed in one of the penthouse suites - huge outdoor private patio with great room. The food was great. The staff's attention to detail second to none. We were able to coordinate some dietary needs in advance.

Highly recommend this for a private, relaxing stay. Great job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merangay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review, we really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the rest of your trip around South Africa was a great experience.
From all of us at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel based off the reviews from TripAdvisor and in all honesty, it is what the reviews say and more. This was my first time to South Africa (Johannesburg). The rooms are big, the dining room is magnificent and the surroundings make you feel like you're at home. All of the staff there are fabulous - and went out of their way to make sure that I was well taken care of - and I can't thank them enough!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oztwinkletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was really lovely meeting you and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had an enjoyable trip back home and thank you once again for your review. We really do appreciate it.

From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and hope to welcome you back some day soon.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#6 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
#10 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing