We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best hotel experience ever,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Residence Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our best hotel experience ever,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I hope everyone gets the opportunity to spend a few nights at The Residence. It was pure heaven, from the opulent decor with chandeliers everywhere (yes even in the bathrooms) to the decadent meals all presented so wonderfully with silver laden tableware. The staff's attire was impeccable and their constant effort to making your stay more enjoyable was over the top. The General Manager's dedication to overseeing this magnificent hotel should be commended. She so impressed us with her kindness and attention to detail. She introduced me to the talented and ever so handsome owner. We were told that the owner's amazing gift for decorating and touches of class and hospitality are evident everywhere..... Just a truly amazing experience we will never forget..... Thank you Edgar Rudge

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Manager at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review. We hope you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
All the very best.
The Residence team
PS. Edgar thanks you for your kind words and wishes you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    24
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
45
166
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was our first time at The Residence and we were blown away! Such great attention to detail. I mentioned when making the booking that it was our 6 year anniversary...when I arrived (earlier than my fiance), a lovely lady by the name of Charity immediately wished me a happy anniversary and in the suite there was already a bottle of champagne on ice as well as a card wishing us once again! There is literally music everywhere in the hotel which is rather soothing. Simple things like the way your food is placed at your table and the covers removed simultaneously, the little reading lights on the menu, the Belgian truffle and mini Amarula waiting at your bedside when you arrive from dinner...all these little touches literally make you feel like royalty. Dinner at the restaurant as well as breakfast were delicious and well presented (the final touch being the complimentary Belgian truffles arriving on dry ice at dinner!). In the suite there is also a complimentary Nespresso coffee machine with pods and a mini bar fridge with complimentary soft drinks and bottled water which is not standard practice in the best of South African hotels. By the time we had arrived back from dinner, the empty champagne bottle and dirty glasses were removed and the ice bucket replaced. All in all a five star experience. I will not hesitate to return to or recommend this hotel to others...a real treat.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, which was stunning with an outdoor deck, outdoor shower as well as a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your anniversary with us and congratulations once again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review.
Wishing you both all the very best and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second stay (first time May 2012) at The Residence and they have really gone from strength to strength. Much can be said about the interior (like the stunning chandeliers) and the great service, but it's really the mood of 'going the extra mile' that impresses most. Management clearly has a knack for attracting super staff - all working together seemlessly to make one feel at home, relaxed and well cared for. What a pleasure to stay here. Congratulations to the owners and staff for creating a memorable experience. You deserve all the accolades that come your way!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, felt like an apartment with jacuzzi and lots of sun on the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Welcome back. It is always a great pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you so much for your review. We really do appreciate it. From all of us at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is lovely. We recently stayed here for two nights and enjoyed ourselves completely. There was a small problem with our room but this was rectified quickly and efficiently by the staff. All the staff were welcoming and could not do enough to help us. The decor is very tasteful, the grounds are stunning and the food is delicious. If you visit Johannesburg, I would recommend you stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Wishing you all the very best for the rest of 2013 and hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After 34 days in Africa a bit of luxury was so appreciated. A bath service in my out door tub, with rose petals. Dinner in my room. Fantastic way more that anyone could eat breakfast of quality food. No one was staying in my room the next day so I got to have use of it till I left for my late in the day flight back home. The small details were so appreciated.
The only thing I would of done differently was have another service to take me to airport. The one Hotel used was way more than any other I used in Johannesburg and my other Hotels were even further from airport.

Room Tip: their basic room is luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do so. We thank you for your feedback and would like to confirm that we have double checked our transfer rate even though it is a Rolls Royce and it is still in line with other service providers.
We would like to wish you all the very best and hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Residence may be my finest hotel experience. Ever. The decor, grounds, lighting, attention to detail are all exquisite, warm and welcoming. The physical features alone would make this a five star rating. But the staff are what make this experience so wonderful. Everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable, from the moment we arrived. The food was superb, beautifully presented and graciously served. The outdoor spaces of the rooms with jacuzzis are sublime. The jacuzzi is not something I usually seek, but I love outdoor space. And these units have the loveliest outdoor seating and dining that I have ever experienced. I enjoyed a great massage and nail treatment on the premises. And do ask for the hotel to arrange transportation for you. The drivers are knowledgable and very professional. I hope to return and find the same wonderful people creating this wonderful place. Thanks to all of you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Those with a jacuzzi have incredible outdoor space. The Mandela suite is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always welcoming hearing that the hard work and attention to detail is noticed and appreciated.
We hope to see you again someday soon and wish you all the very best.

Kindest regards,
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

absolutely a lovely hotel with very charming personell, they do give the hotel a personal touch and make you feel "welcomed and at home". We stayed in room 4 and it was very spacious and even had an extra bathroom - outdoor bathroom, just loved it! Breakfast is wonderful, it is quiet and the surroundings is beautiful. The spa is well worth a visit (you have to book in advance as the ladies will come to the hotell to provide the services) very pleased with facial and mani/pedi work. As some other guest has pointed out, the location of the hotel is somewhat "outside everything"; the driver will take you to resturant etc but it is wise to be aware that this is not in walking distance from anything. We had lunch and dinner at the hotel and it was very good så that is also an option. For a relaxing weekend we found this hotel to be just what we needed to wind down and relax.

Room Tip: Room 4 has an outdoor bathroom, in addition to the indoor! And a living room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
From the team at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and thank you for chosing to stay with us.
Kindest regards
The Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.