We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cube Tasting Kitchen

Cube Tasting Kitchen
17 4th Avenue | Park Town North, Johannesburg, South Africa
082 422 8158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 728 restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“What an experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is an evening to remember. Two very small venues, seating maybe 30 each. No signs on the door and a start time of 7.30. Make sure you don't come late. They don't sell alcohol, so everyone brought their own. Quite funny.

The range of dishes brought out one taste sensation after another. 10 dishes in all with an extra 3 pallet cleansers take nearly 4 hours to get through, so this is not for a quick bite. Loved the seaside arrangement. That lobster in harrisa was out of this world. Some other dishes not my favorites (the duck was so so), but then this is about trying different things. Time just flew.

Did think the staff were a little too attentive. Don't need to be asked every 2 minutes if my wine needs refilling and I really would have loved a coffee with the deserts, but that is nagging on a very high level. Great evening, great food, fantastic concept.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    108
    14
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great experience with some suggested changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time at Cube. The 10 course menu is really well done, overall experience is outstanding, service great, and I will definitely go again. A cured duck dish was memorably good among some other highlights. However, found courses bigger in quantity than the first time and was full by the dessert dishes and my pork belly was very overcooked. I remain a fan of the concept and the execution!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was so looking forward to this evening shared with my friends, but alas I walked away disappointed. I'll start with the positive: I experienced some dishes and taste sensation I would normally never have ordered. Some of the dishes were really tasty, exotic and creative.
The negatives: the location sucks and there is no branding to help you find the place. The two facilities are small, the one we were in seated about 26 people, but due to the location of the kitchen it is uncomfortably hot. Every dish is overdone. A bit of simplicity goes a long way. 10 Dishes are too much, I reached my utility half way through and our whole table groaned when more dishes came. They serve no drinks other than water. No sodas, no juice, nothing. Also there is no ice and our cooldrink bottles were just left on the table to become hot. Nice. We had to keep protecting our last sips of Shiraz from the waiter who wanted to poor a newly opened Red Blend into those same glasses. That's just incomprehensible from a restaurant rated so highly! But worst of all: I cannot eat 3 deserts. One is enough. But COFFEE IS AN IMPERATIVE. Never in my life have I heard of a restaurant that does not offer coffee. All of this for an astronomical price tag? No thank you. I will not recommend Cube.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Shame it has no licence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Interesting concept - a 10 course tasting menu, served to all patrons simultaneously, although for Europeans, a 7pm start feels quite early.
There is a veggie and an omnivore version and each course is explained by one of the chefs.
While not Michelin standard, it is good value (by British standards especially) at R 550.

We started off with flavours of lime with a white chocolate and truffle served with a nitro meringue, sponge and jelly - the theatre of the presentation gave us an insight into what might follow.
This ras followed by a lovely rice pudding. with asparagus. Chevin goats cheese and tomato
One of the tastiest courses was the corn with warm ginger mayonnaise and harissa and the chinese dumplings were also interesting

The onky disapppointing thing is that hte menu has wine recommendations - but if there are only two of you, you are unlikely to take in 10 different bottles. It is difficult to anticipate which one bottle is worth taking with, so I would have preferred the option to partake of the wine and food pairings as advertised .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Recently took my fiancee to Cube, as she's decided to enroll in culinary school and we both enjoy cooking and great food.

The evening was perfect from start to finish. While my fiancee and I disagreed on our favorite dishes from the evening, we both left very impressed and full!

I believe 12 dishes were served on the night we were there, and each was a unique and artistic work of art. The entire meal took about 3.5 hours, and we enjoyed every minute of it.
If you don't appreciate presentation and intricate food preparation (re: if you're not a foodie) this might not be the place for you, but we loved it and will be going back at some point soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cube Tasting Kitchen also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cube Tasting Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cube Tasting Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.