We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cube Tasting Kitchen

Cube Tasting Kitchen
17 4th Avenue | Park Town North, Johannesburg, South Africa
082 422 8158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 728 restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nothing quite prepares for the extravagance, yet intimate experience. Most definite choice for impromptu romantic dinner or celebrating something special. TIP book at least 2 weeks in advance. MOST DEFINITELY WORTH IT!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    110
    14
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Cube Tasting was the first dinner we had in South Africa - and it was the perfect introduction. The 10 course, 3 hour tasting was inventive, delicious, and a great start to a great holiday. The chefs explain each course as it is presented, and we didn't have a single course disappoint. The value is incredible - such a meal in the US would cost a fortune. The restaurant is BYOB, so be sure to stock up on some great wine.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once again, an outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Every time we visit Cube we are amazed by the creativity and the enthusiasm of the entire team. Even though our first visit was exceptional, we are more and more impressed each time we dine there. The nitro meringue at the table was such fun and added nicely to the theatre of the evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Food in J'Burg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Service was fabulous, lovely venue, fab atmosphere and simply amazing, imaginative & tasty food.

On the whole I've not been particularly impressed by the food in J'Burg, as I find a lot of it to big portion steaks without much finese whereas this was fine dining, elegant and much more sophisticated than lots of the other high-end places I've eaten in J'Burg.

Well done to Cube!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Best restaurant in Gauteng, by miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have been to Cube 6 times since it opened 3 years ago. It is absolutely fabulous. You won't get more delicious, clever and inventive food anywhere. It is a treat and great experience. The dinner takes about 3 hours. I loved Cube the first time we went, but I think it's just got better and better. If asked where to celebrate a special occasion, Cube would be my first choice, in my home city.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cube Tasting Kitchen also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cube Tasting Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cube Tasting Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.