We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste Bud Tantalizing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cube Tasting Kitchen

Cube Tasting Kitchen
17 4th Avenue | Park Town North, Johannesburg, South Africa
082 422 8158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 734 restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Taste Bud Tantalizing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to Cube for our anniversary. We heard wonderful things about Dario and his team and I must say we were not disappointed at all! The food, presentation and flavors were spot on! We loved the personal service by the chef team, explaining every dish. The waiters were very professional as well. It is definitely one of my new favorites and we will be returning soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    112
    16
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macleay Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a treat! A night out on its own. The food is fantastic and the chefs will cone and explain what each dish is and the flavours to expect. The night flows and the 10 plates travel along well. Only one of our party stopped st 8 as she was full but the dishes are only small so don't let that worry you. I have had quite a few degurstation menu's in the wine areas of South Australia but this was far and away the best I have ever had. If in Johannesburg take a night and enjoy everything Cube has to offer. Make sure to book!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best in Johannesburg, a great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had dinner here last night, for the second time. Not only is the food incredible, the service is great and it is above all a fun experience. To be served 3 star Michelin quality food and the chef walks around in his shorts, and takes the time to explain every dish, is truly remarkable. This is a very special place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelming after Le QF”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

1.Cube is in a neighbourhood that got us a bit worried in Parktown North
2.Cube is very tiney and intimate with about 6-7 tables
3. After Margot's LQF in Franchhoek one just cannot meet the standard but if this had been our 1st experience of this kind then all would have been good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I went here for our anniversary after hearing rave reviews from family and friends. We had a fantastic evening and loved the food and service. The food is well presented and served personally by the chefs who are on hand to answer any questions. Great chatting to Dario and his team after our meal. A taxi home is highly recommended

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cube Tasting Kitchen also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg

Been to Cube Tasting Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cube Tasting Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.