We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cube Tasting Kitchen

Cube Tasting Kitchen
17 4th Avenue | Parktown North, Johannesburg, South Africa
082 422 8158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 766 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Taste Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was treated to dinner at Cube for my birthday. It was my second time at Cube, and with a brand new menu. We had the 9 course. The menu was perfectly suited to winter, and most of the dishes were made with seasonal produce. Every course was amazing and had a fantastic combination of tastes and aromas. I just love how passionate Dario and Alex are about their dishes. I'll definitely be back! Cube is my favorite!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    25
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cube to the power of 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had heard a bit about this restaurant, or better named a culinary journey. As a party of 4, not everyone wanted to take on the14 courses and Cube were more than willing to accommodate one guest for 6 courses, all the same as the other guests. The attention to detail is phenomenal and each plate is a work of art, reminding you of Heston Blumenthal and other cooking shows, only better, as you can taste the dish. Starting your meal with a taste test which sends your taset buds one way and your brain another. A fun way to start an evening.

The Chef's give you their absolute personal touch by explaining each course and running through the methods and taste of each dish as it is served. We found the meal to be well paced and the portion sizes are perfect. If you are having 14 courses the portion size is slightly smaller than that of 6.

They advise you to take your own wines as they are not licensed and I don't think the can stock the variety of wines needed for all the dishes. The restaurant is small yet intimate. Highly recommended if you want something different and are willing to spend a little extra.

The menu is changed each month, bookings are scares and the service is excellent! Top marks Cube!!!

Compliments to Cube!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Finest in Jo'burg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I was looking for a fine dining restaurant in Jhb with a tasting menu, and found exactly that in Cube. We had the 8 course. The food and presentation was exceptional, and rates among the best fine dining menus I have had. Each course was served by either Dario (executive chef and owner) or his sous chef. We took our own champagne and wine, as they guided us to do in the confirmation email (no corkage). The waiters are well trained and poured every drink perfectly. Cube is small and intimate, which give a very personal experience. It was perfect, and I will recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food fantasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten at Cube twice and loved both experiences and menus. It is great to eat food created for the experience rather than just to fill the punters up. The delicacies are well conceived and executed, the balance in menu progression is excellent and the staff well informed and charming. The only down side is the length of time it takes to progress through the eating extravaganza.... The first time I was tired by the end (my kids are still in nursery school) and the 2nd I was pretty drunk on the very excellent champagne we brought along. Great evening out, but go there well rested and watch how much you drink between courses!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Passionate chefs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Going there on a regular base since they opened, quality and passion has not changed but even improved! Dario and his team are full of surprises and it is truly an event to spend an evening there. Luckily now guests have the option to choose between 8, 13 oder 18 courses so you even could go there for a "quicker" bite. Best fine dining in town besides of The Saxon restaurant. BYO and book early!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cube Tasting Kitchen also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cube Tasting Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cube Tasting Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.