We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“verry good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avondhu Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avondhu Guest House
Save
You added Avondhu Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Bristol Road | Saxonwold, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 232 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“verry good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hi my name is Frick van Tonder and I just want to say a few words about this fantasties gashuis.Sorry but English is not my first language so please bear whith me. I am up here in jhb for a meeting on a Friday and also on that Monday.So now what to do for the weekend? I was close to Rosebank Mall and the owners took me there to shop and visit a restaurant. That afternoon me and another guest were so happy when George the owner and his lovely wife Tanya made for us a lekker braai and we all watched the Rugby in the big lounge on the big screen instead of alone in my room. Next time we come to jhb I will bring my family whith. thanks everybody also steff and her staff,Food and everything was great.

Room Tip: my room was very well equipped and also very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephatAvondhu, Manager at Avondhu Guest House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Liewe Frickvantonder

Baie dankie vir die wonderlike resenseer. Hoop ons jou en jou familie in die toekoms.

Stephanie & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I finally got to stay at AVONDHU . From the minute I was picked up in a fab new spacious luxury shuttle until such time that I was re deposited at OR Tambo my stay was nothing but sheer pleasure and indulgence.From the great food to the comfy bed and friendly warm service nothing was to much trouble for Steffi and her team.Sad to leave but happy that i experienced such a great guest house.Won't stay anywhere else when i come back to jhb.XXX

Room Tip: Rooms are all well appointed and my choice is cottage no2
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephatAvondhu, Manager at Avondhu Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Wendygoosen,

Thank you so much for your great review. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with Avondhu and return very soon.

Stephanie and Avondhu Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a warm and friendly home away from home. A hectic week of meetings and courses to attend.It was such a pleasure to have been booked in to AVONDHU guest house.The food and service is great and the owners Tania and George are so hands on and nothing is to much trouble.Well done guys. Will be back

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I had my choice as I booked long in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephatAvondhu, Owner at Avondhu Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Youma2014,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write this wonderful review. We at Avondhu Guest House really appreciate it.

Avondhu Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A few months ago my partner spent time at Avondhu. He could not praise it enough and forbade me to book in anywhere else but there if i travel to johannesburg. I can see why he was so enthusiastic about the place. Food ,Service Cleanliness are a top priority for me.Throw in beautiful surroundings and freindly helpful staff a jovial Shuttle driver to cater to all my needs and u have a winning formula. Well done guys.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are verry private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephatAvondhu, Manager at Avondhu Guest House, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 140123456969,

Thank you so much for your review. It is so refreshing to hear a guest appreciate the work we do.

Avondhu Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

What a gem my life partner and I found in the heart of johannesburg northen suburb's.We attended a fashion show and a week of buying for our capetown.shops.We had heard about AVONDU.from freinds of ours who had attended a glam parade and after party at zoo lake earlier in the year. We were treated like royalty.Best beds we have ever slept.in. Fit for a queen. breakfast was soooo yum.Thanks steff u are a fab hostess and big hugs for making our stay so homely and warm.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked great and would be happy to stay in any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephatAvondhu, Manager at Avondhu Guest House, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear Seandavis2014,

I thank you very much for such a wonderful review.

Stephanie and Avondhu Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago for the weekend when we had to attend a wedding in the area - wish it had been much longer!! The standard of accommodation is very high, could not fault it a bit with efficient service from staff. Both Stephanie and Tania are very friendly and welcoming - star hosts! We had a very warm welcome. Lovely spacious room, immaculate. One of the best guesthouses we have stayed at and the best Eggs Benedict ever! Would certainly return again and would highly recommend Avondhu Guest House . THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful and exactly as seen on the website and facebook page!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephatAvondhu, Manager at Avondhu Guest House, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Rosemary,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We do hope to see you soon.

Avondhu Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I would like to thank Stephanie for the friendly service and going the extra mile to make our stay there the best. I will recommend Avondu Guest House to everybody, this is a stunning place with outstanding staff

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephatAvondhu, Manager at Avondhu Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Mecer1

Thank you very much for the great review. We wish to see you and your family soon.

Stephanie and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avondhu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondhu Guest House

Address: 8 Bristol Road | Saxonwold, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondhu Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondhu Guest House - 4 Star B&B Guest House in Saxonwold, Johannesburg.Our four-star B&B is located in the original garden suburbs to the north of the Johannesburg central business district and on the southern edge of the Sandton CBD. Saxonwold lies close to the central hub of Rosebank. Accommodation Avondhu is owner-run, with all the luxuries and attention to detail required by discerning business travellers and tourists, at very reasonable rates. We love what we do and how we do it. Make sure to make every guest feel at home and received good value for their money. There are four double en-suite rooms and three single en-suite rooms available. Facilities: • Bar fridges in all rooms • Microwaves in all rooms • Free Wi-Fi • DStv in rooms • Coffee and tea facilities • Laundry facilities • Private entrance • Transfers to Johannesburg International Airport arranged on request ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avondhu Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.