We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avondhu Guest House

Save Saved
You added Avondhu Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avondhu Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Bristol Road | Saxonwold, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 232 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a busy man doing business in jhb from time to time.I don't have time to write reviews,but I feel that Steffi and her team deserve it big time. I was stranded at OR TAMBO due to a logistical error.I got hold of Avondhu by chance on my internet search. What a joy when I was picked up outside arrivals whithin an hour.Considdering the late hour distance and short notice I was astounded.It just got better and better from then on.Great room excellent food and homely atmosphere. A HUGE THUMBS UP.!!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked great from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I attended a training course for work at the nearby Glenhove Conference centre. From the minute i was collected from the airport to the time i left i have no complaints. In fact this was a really pleasant experience. I felt truly comfortable and enjoyed the easygoing friendly, caring atmosphere. A lot of it was down to Steffi the manager who was just the best!!! Not sure when i'll be back in Jhb but if i am looking for a B+B i will certainly try and get into Avondhu. Thanks. Liz H

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I am an entrepreneur from Dbn that came up to Jhb for some business meetings and Avondhu Guest House was so perfectly and conveniently situated! This owner-run establishment was very comfortable and homely. Avondhu Guest House was clean and well maintained. Breakfast included a wide variety of cereal, muffins, eggs, bacon, jams, cheeses, fruits, coffees, etc. I enjoyed great service and really great quality food. I definitely will be staying here again :)

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and comfortable :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stay at Avondhu Guest every 3 months for 1 week whenever I come up for business and this BnB never fails to supply the element of home :) Warm, cosy, spacious, very safe and a wonderful friendly experience.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the cottage and is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avondhu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondhu Guest House

Address: 8 Bristol Road | Saxonwold, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondhu Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irish hospitality on the HighveldOur Four-star B&B is located in the original garden suburbs to the north of the Johannesburg Central Business District and on the southern edge of the Sandton CBD. Saxonwold lies close to the central hub of Rosebank.Avondhu is owner-run, with all the luxuries and attention to detail required by discerning business travellers and tourists, at very reasonable rates.Children are welcome at Avondhu.Avondhu Guest House has 4 units, self contained and fully equipped, with DSTV, Mnet, fridge, microwave, stove/hotplate, kettle, and toaster. There is a bathroom/shower en suite, queen/twinbeds, a desk/dressing table and a couch in all units. Each unit has a separate private entrance. Coffee and tea is provided in the units. There is secure off road parking.Access to the Internet is available from every B&B unitTransfers to Johannesburg International Airport arranged on requestTours to Johannesburg & Soweto attractions [and further afield] arranged on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Avondhu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avondhu Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.