We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous birthday lunch! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koi

Koi
| The Firs, Corner Cradock and Bierman Avenues, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 (0)11 447 2440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 816 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Contemporary, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Koi Restaurants, the leader in contempory Asian Cuisine. At Koi we strive to bring you the latest in Asian trends mixed with our own touch of Western style in a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday lunch! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went to KOI for my friends birthday, and it was as usual outstanding! We enjoyed sushi and dim sum, and the choice was excellent. They have a great vegetarian selection.

The ginger tarimisu was a fantastic end to a great meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    55
    15
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I've eaten here many times and I've never had a bad meal. Always order sushi and I am never disappointed. The staff are friendly and the decor is clean. It can get a bit loud inside, but a full restaurant says something is going right!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Koi has seen the last of me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I keep expecting better and keep being disappointed - over the last three visits I've had overcooked tuna, dried out Peking duck and a roast duck salad that had a dressing that was just sweet and awful. I go back because others keep telling me telling me, they've had great meals. hasta la vista Koi!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dining in a buzzing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was first class. Service friendly and efficient. Trendy and buzzing atmosphere. Also an excellent selection of wines.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a nice an open resturant with a good atmosphere but if you go for a romantic dinner its not the place. Friendly service which allows you to be in a good mood.
The food is good and above average but not really in the top end and that do not mean I would never go again because its worth the money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.