We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi so far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of koi

koi
Cnr Cradock & Bierman Avenue | The Firs Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 477 2440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 766 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Dim Sum, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Koi Restaurants, the leader in contempory Asian Cuisine. At Koi we strive to bring you the latest in Asian trends mixed with our own touch of Western style in a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The sushi here is incredible and I am yet to find anything better in Johannesburg. If you are not wanting to eat at the normal tables, there is a small couch section that worked well for sushi and added to the intimacy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    12
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a business dinner here with some colleagues. The quality of the food was excellent. We had a bit of everything but the sashimi, the soft-shell crab, the shrimps were great appetizers. For main course I had the Peking Duck - very tasteful. Good wine list. Good service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Consistent high Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on many occassions. It is consistently good, however on a recent business visit with 23 people, the service was extremely slow and by the time some of the guests received their meals, others had finished eating. It was a Friday night, packed and our table was large so we were fairly acceping

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“fine flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

i think this is the best restaurant in the rosebank area. the food is delectable and they have several vegetarian/vegan options. my favourites are the veg sushi platter and the ginger and coconut creme brulee. the lighting is nice and warm, and in winter they put out lovely lava lamps!.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great fod, great vibe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Try the sashimi platter and the hoi sin calamari starter (even as a main course), this place has great food and very friendly and good service. Great vibe, always book ahead, it is quite popular.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed koi also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage koi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.