We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of koi

koi
Cnr Cradock & Bierman Avenue | The Firs Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 477 2440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 761 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Dim Sum, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Koi Restaurants, the leader in contempory Asian Cuisine. At Koi we strive to bring you the latest in Asian trends mixed with our own touch of Western style in a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Fantastic fusion of Eastern and modern cuisine. Very trendy and popular eatery with excellent service and mind-blowing food. The dim sum and sushi is simply divine and a nice selection of imported saki rounds off the experience. Duck is also a must!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    12
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Koi is one of my favourite lunch time spots. Wide asian menu and only the best ingredients. Do indulge in the calamari for starters and some dim sum. Also my favourite is the little sweet treat served with coffees. Always vibey and food great!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great food, lovely position - with indoor and outdoor eating areas. Children friendly. Attentive service, excellent quality all round.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Asian that blows the socks off everyone else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had previously visited Koi in Sandton, but it was on a night when the nightclub next door was opening, and there were revellers everywhere. It was noisy and not a great experience.

I did, however, visit Koi in Rosebank yesterday. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed. There are kids playing in the fountain, and a general jovial outdoor environment.

We started with a dim sum platter and some unusual sushi. Both were a feast for the taste buds. Each mouthful more memorable than the next. Their speciality tiger rolls were superb and by far the best sushi & dim sum I have had in a very long time - only bested by the real thing in Asia!

We next had the crispy Peking duck - which comes with pancakes and a divine hoisin sauce. Highly recommended.

The quality of the service, food and atmosphere is a 10/10 for me. Very child friendly, very relaxed and very, very good cuisine. I can't wait to go back to try more of their amazing menu!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent contemporary Asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Located next to the Rosebank mall, this design restaurant serves excellent contemporary Asian food. We really enticed their dim sum, roasted duck and curry. Prices are very reasonable, service is good, and the atmosphere is trendy and hip. Recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed koi also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage koi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.