We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN OASIS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House on York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added House on York to your Saves list
House on York
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 York Street | Kensington South, Johannesburg 2047, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 270 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AN OASIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived early evening and it was dark. Initially we found it hard to find but that was because the satnav was poor. Once there we were overjoyed by the room and the owners help. He was a wealth of information and stories. Everything kids could ever want and nothing was a problem. This was a 1 night stay and we were given full run of the property and even offered use of shower facilities and a late departure. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property. Only advice for Johannesburg is....hire a car, even for one day this is the cheapest and best way to get around and be independent. Some suburbs leave you as a prisoner. Day time was safe at York but wouldn't like to venture out at night. Couldn't fault the property though or the ownership. Marvellous.

Room Tip: The units vary and are limted on numbers but all are excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANTHONY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jena
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Its in a quiet neighborhood and safe locality. From outside it doesnt look much but its real comfortable inside. They had real good beds with complimentary wine. We left early so could not enjoy the breakfast. Each room is decorated tastefully

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KichuJena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

From the outside it doesn't look like much but inside it feels like you're at home.
We were in 3 different rooms in our group, all of which had their unique feeling. Very homely and plenty of space. The place has all the facilities you need and a large communal area with a heap of games including pool and foosball. Plus a sauna and pool for the summer season.
Gavin and the staff here were great. Very helpful.
I had to stay an extra night at the last minute and even though they were booked out he worked it out without a problem.
The surrounding neighbourhood itself was very safe during the day and at night we went out to eat at one of many nearby restaurants .
HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: Wooden cabin at the rear of the premises has an almost bungalow appearance, a jungle cabin in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewThomasW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at House on York for one night with a family of five. The family unit in the garden was excellent with lots of space and a real homey atmosphere. Kids could play crocket in the garden. Service was very friendly and helpful and the location is very convenient in a safe area, near Eastgate mall and the airport. A great alternative to a hotel in terms of personal attention, family accommodation, and most certainly value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdv999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This couldn't have been more perfect. Gavin was amazingly helpful, both over email prior to the booking, during the process and whilst we were staying. The taxi driver met us off the place as promised and we were welcomed by the night manager with a big smile!

Our room was great, super comfy bed, loads of space and a powerful shower. We heard no noise, had a good internet connection and felt completely safe.
Breakfast was delicious, with a huge selection to choose from, it was a shame we slept late & had to rush back to the airport as we could have stayed at breakfast for hours!

Room Tip: We were outside of the main building, about 10m from the main building, very private and secure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.0 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#31 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#24 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Life on 3rd
Life on 3rd
#24 of 270 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Winchester Lodge
Winchester Lodge
#66 of 270 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Margaret's Place
Margaret's Place
#1 of 83 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
84 on 4th Guest House
84 on 4th Guest House
#42 of 270 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on York

Address: 7 York Street | Kensington South, Johannesburg 2047, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — House on York 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your House on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing