We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN OASIS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House on York

Save Saved
You added House on York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House on York
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 York Street | Kensington South, Johannesburg 2047, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 232 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“AN OASIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived early evening and it was dark. Initially we found it hard to find but that was because the satnav was poor. Once there we were overjoyed by the room and the owners help. He was a wealth of information and stories. Everything kids could ever want and nothing was a problem. This was a 1 night stay and we were given full run of the property and even offered use of shower facilities and a late departure. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property. Only advice for Johannesburg is....hire a car, even for one day this is the cheapest and best way to get around and be independent. Some suburbs leave you as a prisoner. Day time was safe at York but wouldn't like to venture out at night. Couldn't fault the property though or the ownership. Marvellous.

Room Tip: The units vary and are limted on numbers but all are excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
6
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jena
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Its in a quiet neighborhood and safe locality. From outside it doesnt look much but its real comfortable inside. They had real good beds with complimentary wine. We left early so could not enjoy the breakfast. Each room is decorated tastefully

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

From the outside it doesn't look like much but inside it feels like you're at home.
We were in 3 different rooms in our group, all of which had their unique feeling. Very homely and plenty of space. The place has all the facilities you need and a large communal area with a heap of games including pool and foosball. Plus a sauna and pool for the summer season.
Gavin and the staff here were great. Very helpful.
I had to stay an extra night at the last minute and even though they were booked out he worked it out without a problem.
The surrounding neighbourhood itself was very safe during the day and at night we went out to eat at one of many nearby restaurants .
HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: Wooden cabin at the rear of the premises has an almost bungalow appearance, a jungle cabin in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at House on York for one night with a family of five. The family unit in the garden was excellent with lots of space and a real homey atmosphere. Kids could play crocket in the garden. Service was very friendly and helpful and the location is very convenient in a safe area, near Eastgate mall and the airport. A great alternative to a hotel in terms of personal attention, family accommodation, and most certainly value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This couldn't have been more perfect. Gavin was amazingly helpful, both over email prior to the booking, during the process and whilst we were staying. The taxi driver met us off the place as promised and we were welcomed by the night manager with a big smile!

Our room was great, super comfy bed, loads of space and a powerful shower. We heard no noise, had a good internet connection and felt completely safe.
Breakfast was delicious, with a huge selection to choose from, it was a shame we slept late & had to rush back to the airport as we could have stayed at breakfast for hours!

Room Tip: We were outside of the main building, about 10m from the main building, very private and secure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on York

Address: 7 York Street | Kensington South, Johannesburg 2047, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — House on York 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House on York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.