We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scuza - this ones the best from A to Zed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cucina di Ciro

La Cucina di Ciro
43 Seventh Avenue | Parktown North, Johannesburg, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 766 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Moroccan/Italian restaurant located at no 43 7th Avenue, Parktown North, Johannesburg. Open breakfast, lunch and dinner, except Sundays. Ciro’s - 011 442 5187 | 011 447 1031 (booking advisable)
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“scuza - this ones the best from A to Zed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The best salad ever - calfs liver second to none - and the meringue roulade incomparable. Brava Ciro -

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delivers less than it could”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This restaurant once oozed passion and quality. We were disappointed and felt that the accent is now on making money rather than (firstly) delivering great food. It is expensive and the portions are relatively small - designed to get you to have a starter and dessert I suppose. The staff were attentive and helpful and deserve special mention.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ciro Molinaro does it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What makes a perfect evening perfect, well good food, great service and just the right vibe helps but that's not all. If every guest at the table says this was a great meal, then hey they can't all be right or can they. Well let me tell you the food was out of this world, never a problem to ask for extra souse a bit of this or that. Ciro himself walks the floor and looks at the kitchen when necessary, Jean-Marc runs the back like clock-work. Try the duck, or one of the specials, Scottish Salmon looked great too.
The pastry shop/kitchen makes delicious deserts, his crème brule has been known to save marriages….
This is one of the best restaurants in JoZi, don’t miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Venue Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The place is special - the food is expensive but good. I tried the cheapest red wine which was good, Hernmanuspietersfontein red. The owner is a bit grumpy and has the attitude of take it or leave it but that does not upset me I went there to experience good food and it is something not often found in restaurants. Some staff are friendly. I had an interesting chat to a manager who is actually a photographer and he was very friendly.

I am amazed that we can all have such different experiences with the same restaurant. Maybe I will have a bad experience there one day, but until then I will go back. Most of the popular restaurants have a take it or leave it attitude when booking, so I just deal with it. I reserve the right to criticise this and other restaurants with gusto when needed. I highly rate La Cucino

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic Mother's day lunch at la Cucina. Owner Ciro is so friendly and attentive as are his staff. The food was fantastic and each person at the table agreed with this. They served a small portion for a 3-year old and made her feel very special. Have been before and will certainly go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina di Ciro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to La Cucina di Ciro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cucina di Ciro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.