We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business and social” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Maxwell

Thomas Maxwell
140 11th Street, | Parkmore, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
011 784 1575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 755 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great for business and social”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We've been a few times now. It's always been good.

On the last occasion, there was some renovation being done. It was very loud which detracted a bit from the usually great ambience, but to be fair, I was warned when we made the reservation which I appreciated.

The food is always well presented. The specials are always worth considering, but the menu itself doesn't disappoint.

I've been for business lunches and also social lunches. It's good for both.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    62
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Solidly fabulous ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Thomas maxwell remains one of the most consistently high quality meals in town. French onion soup was absolutely magnificent!! Yum. I'll be back ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sandton Success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by a member of staff at a game lodge we stayed at and were not disappointed. Very attentive staff looked after us and the food was very good. We were there early but it soon filled up - a real mix of people, some business some families and couples too. Reasonably priced cocktails, beers and wine. You need to book in advance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“King and Maxwell!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was highly disappointed on my first visit and most everyone you speak to will have only good things to say about the Thomas Maxwell bistro, so i sucked it up and went again! i am so happy i went back, this time, everything was different, the service was good and the food was even better. i started with the french onion soup, i don't normally go for the soup and i was not disappointed, delicious down to the last drop. for mains they had a rib eye on the bone, i think it was a rib eye, i cant remember but i do remember the bacon and black truffle cream that was on this succulent piece of meat, marvelous!! i will be back for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gem in the Middle of Sandton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Sandton has a lot of restaurants mainly geared towards tourist and business people.
This place is a great, it's small and cosy.
An escape from the commercial replication they call food.

Area is a bit dodgy but the restaurant makes up for it.

Excellent service from the time you walk through the door.

Food is great.
Tried the mussels and chips starter (Would easily choose this as a main)
and the beef pasta, recently.
My previous meal here include Rabbit and sausage and Crayfish pasta.
Never disappointed.
One of a very few restaurants that serve rabbit, if you are in the mood.
Meals are on the Pricey side but they are good value, but the portion are a solid sizes and full of flavor.

Will require a reservation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Maxwell also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Thomas Maxwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Maxwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.