We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect atmosphere and divine cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Maxwell

Thomas Maxwell
140 11th Street, | Parkmore, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
011 784 1575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 816 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lahore, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere and divine cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I discovered this place by chance when I lived in Jo'burg, but quickly became a regular. Now when I travel back to SA I make it a point to dine here. Located in an unassuming strip mall in Benmore you wouldn't think that you are about to walk into a little piece if France, but from the moment you sit down the ambience is perfect for the fabulous meal you will have. My favourite dishes are the mussels and chips and the tomato tart, but honestly I haven't had a bad thing on the menu. I also love the toasted marshmallow dessert. Excellent wine selection as well. This place is a must during your time in Johannesburg.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    62
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The restaurant is expensive but on a good night, it is a very special evening out. The food is great, the setting lovely and the service is normally good too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

From the moment you walk in to this restaurant you can tell that service is important. You are made to feel special and the food backs up the service. The menu offers a variety and the taste of the meals was out of this world. The wine list is fairly standard. Overall this is a great dining experience and has fast become one of our absolute favourites. Unlike a lot of restaurants in the Sandton shopping mall where you feel more like an international tourist, this one feels totally different.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to go and experience a good restaurant in JHB. Was not disappointed. Had great starters. We had the beef fillet and truffle and Rabbit Risotto. Fillet was awesome. The risotto was really well prepared but the rabbit was not that nice. Good flavour, but a bit tough and chewy. Desserts was the creme brulé, which had a lovely flavour...but the texture was a bit of a let down.
Service was not bad, but not really welcoming. Had the feeling the staff just served because we were there...not really out of a passion to serve. Something a would expect from a restaurant such as this.

Overall, good restaurant, good food, love the decor and setting. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A super cool bistro with very high standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I would eat here every week if I could.

That should tell you enough, but tripadvisor insist on me writing at least 100 characters (I must be getting close). Look, the food was superb - including the best steak I've had for a long time - and the selection of cocktails, wine and spirits were excellent. That's it. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Maxwell also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Thomas Maxwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Maxwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.