We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply very good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW

PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW
VILLAGE VIEW SHOPPING CENTRE | CNR. KLOOF AND VAN BUUREN ROAD, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27(0)11 4502242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 745 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Simply very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I expected really good food and got it! The service and ambience was also what I expected and a few little extra requests were no problem!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent meal, great ambience. Went there for a company function and the food was excellent. Need to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“something missing ???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Friendsand family had made it out to be so spectacular , and quite frankly I was not blown away . I have had nicer prawns at less expensive restaurants

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I went to a business lunch the other day and randomly chose Pigalle in Bedfordview on Thursday 10 January 2013. What I noticed as a parent though is that it's not a suitable restaurant for children as no under 12's is clearly marked on the door and the food is just not for children. However, we had an excellent waitor, Allan, who was very gracious and helpful. When we sat down we received a complimentary shot of butternut soup which was perfect and definitely something to try as a starter or main dish if you're a soup kind of person. My associate had a kingklip dish which he said was delicios. I had a lamb parcel which was well cooked lamb in phyllo pastry with mashed potatoes served with stir fried vegetables. It was very similar to a beef wellington just without the beef. The meal was excellent and I would most certainly go back.

I have eaten here before and it has never failed in its service or quality of food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have now visited three times. Very good restaurant in the Melrose complex with strong designer theme. Great food, wine and service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.