We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW

PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW
VILLAGE VIEW SHOPPING CENTRE | CNR. KLOOF AND VAN BUUREN ROAD, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27(0)11 4502242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 763 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is no doubt my favorite restaurant for any occasion, including all special occasions. Great service, amazing food, stunning and lavish setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best upmarket restaurant in Johannesburg.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Pigalle is the best of the best. The staff, ambiance as well as the setting always makes every visit a culinary experience. Our family has been eating at the place for the past 5 years or so and the owner, Vasco, is such a people's person. He personally visits every table to check if the patrons are well taken care of. This is done despite the fact that his staff is excellent and they have the best training in customer service. Every time we have to dine out, we end up choosing Pigalle, hence I even know their menu by heart. My husband, a wine connoisseur loves it for their large variety of wines. If you happen to be a tourist who loves good food and wine, then Pigalle is the place to try when in Joburg. I know for a fact that you will have the best dining experience ever.
Seleme Melato

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to entertain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Easy access from the Highway, freindly staff, wide varienty of food,well presente and tasty excellent wine list . Best restaurant in that area ,

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in JB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were invited to this Portuguese restaurant by a good customer of theirs. We had some great food paired with an amazing wine. The manager, a guy called Vasco made our lunch a great one.

The restaurant itself is inside a mall therefore there are no views and nothing "exotic" to see. We are talking about fantastic food and service.

We had some Portuguese appetizers and I must admit they were all fantastic. Then we all had the Baby Kinglip which was simply cooked and very tasty.

Wine selection was very good also, we went for Fusion V which was out of this world.

What can else can I say? Great food and service in JB.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Execellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Best restaurant in Johannesburg!! The food and service is always good, have been there on many occasions and am never disappointed! Management is also brilliant and always so helpful and eager to please.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PIGALLE BEDFORDVIEW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.