We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papachinos

Papachinos
Sevens Decor Centre | Cnr The Straight & Witkoppen Roads, Pineslopes, Fourways, Johannesburg, South Africa
11-467-4460
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 790 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: very child friendly, superb service, excellent location, amazing staff. for parents with 2 year olds who are very busy it is a minefield finding an establishment that looks after the needs of the children, parents and other diners, the children's pizza kitchen is fantastic, truly a first class venue.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Atmosphere and the child friendly environment, lots to do for kids so they don't get bored while adults can relax and enjoy a good meal

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Even "Africa Time" is faster than their service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited Papachino's in Radiokop (Christiaan de Wet Rd). The Papachino restaurants are generally known to be "Parents' Head Quarters" due to the lolvely play area for kids, and the great kiddies pizza parties one can have there...but beware! If you do decide to visit, please be prepared to wait and wait and wait some more. I waited 30minutes to get a straw! We were a big table with roughly 15 adults and quite a few kids, but the service was so bad, it was scary. The managers only helped when I really made a fuss, but by that time we were almost on our way home.
I must add, that they have GREAT PIZZA and a lovely, safe play area with people keeping an eye on the little ones playing, while mom and dad can relax - so in that department they score full marks, and that is why I scored them as "Average".

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great place to take the kids , as they are entertained and supervised. Food could be better but acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Have to book well in advance of wanting to go. Great facilities and very child friendly, the food does not let you down because of this, but is delicious.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a family or a date night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had a lovely date night here. Great vibe, food and ambiance. There are play facilities for kids when on a family night.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Papachinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papachinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.