We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blackheath a quality Facility in Randburg!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Manor Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blackheath Manor Guest House to your Saves list
Blackheath Manor Guest House
267 Outlook Terrace | Blackheath, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Lagos
2 reviews
“Blackheath a quality Facility in Randburg!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Blackheath Manor Guest House is a good facility for travelers or stop by passenger. With a serene environment for healthy living and quality service. Please once you find yourself in Randburg , Enjoy!


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Jhb. This is the cleanest B & B, hotel, lodge etc that I have EVER stayed in. I never walk around barefoot - not even in my own home - but felt comfortable enough to do so here. They cleaned the room and changed the towels every day. Good breakfast. Friendly owner. Safe and secure - did not feel unsafe coming back late at night. Would recommend this B & B to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Blackheath Manor for 6 weeks, while working in Joburg.

Every night, I came home to beautiful gardens, impeccibly clean rooms, and friend staff.

Alwyn, the owner, is incredibly friendly and has a wealth of knowledge on South Africa/things to do in the Johannesburg area.

Walking distance to excellent Italian and steak restautants, and shopping mall.

Wish I could rate it 6 stars!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at Blackheath Manor. I was in Johannesburg for nearly a full month I could not have had a better experience than I had at Blackheath. The experience beats any sterile hotel stay by miles and with ease. It's relaxing, comfortable, quiet, and the service is top notch. The gardens that are kept are spectacular as well. Alwyn, the host, does a wonderful job at making sure you feel at home and goes above and beyond to make your stay more enjoyable. He and his wife know where to go and are always ready with a good suggestion for dinner or attractions. Bottom line: I would highly recommend Blackheath Manor to anyone traveling to Joburg, and if I ever make my way back to South Africa I am definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are looking for luxury affordable accommodation in Johannesburg for a few days or even a few weeks, Blackheath Manor should be you first choice. We felt at home the minute we arrived. The owner, Alwyn, and his team were super friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay more pleasant. Our room was beautifully and comfortably laid out with everything we needed. We can highly recommend Blackheath Manor!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Blackheath Manor. Alwyn was a perfect host & if you are ever short of something to do or somewhere to eat he knows just the place. His breakfasts are superb - nothing is too much trouble. You won't go hungry. The rooms are perfect, beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean. Mary & the housekeeping team keep the linen fresh & clean and the towels are always replenished & soft & fluffy. The swimming pool just outside your door is a great bonus & swim towels are provided. We have stayed twice now at Blackheath Manor & would highly recommend a stay here. We hope to visit SA again next year & return to Blackheath Manor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. The owner made me feel immediately welcome and concerned I had everyting I needed. The room was very comfortable with quality fixtures and fittings, lovely bed linen and towels. The gardens were also superb.

Alwyn even took me to a shopping centre on my day of departure!

I would highly recommend that this be your choice of accommodation in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackheath Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Manor Guest House

Address: 267 Outlook Terrace | Blackheath, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Blackheath Manor Guest House provides secure, luxurious accommodation in an established garden setting, creating a comfortable and relaxed environment to work or to relax in after a demanding business day. We are situated in the peaceful, tree-lined Blackheath, a suburb of Johannesburg on the lower slopes of the Northcliff Hill, within walking distance of the Cresta Shopping Centre. Each guest room is fully fitted with an air-conditioner, under floor heating, en-suite bathroom (including a bath, shower and double basins), a hairdryer, colour TV, DVD player and DSTV, tea & coffee facilities and a mini bar. A board room (seating 14 to 16 people) is also available and is ideal for those brainstorming or development sessions away from the distractions of the office. The conference room as well as our guest rooms have internet access. Secure, off-street parking is provided to all guests and visitors. All guest rooms can be accessed from a beautiful courtyard area with a heated swimming pool, which is available to all guests and visitors. For the discerning tourist we offer suburban comfort and peace in a professional establishment that is close to a number of shopping centres, business parks and tourist attractions. To name but a few, local attractions or places of interest within a 100km radius include the Sterkfontein Caves, Maropeng, the Wonder Caves, the Rhino & Lion Nature Reserve, as well as Gold Reef City, the Apartheid Museum, Sun City. Trust us to take care of all your leisure bookings, travel arrangements and transfers. Accommodation: 6 luxury, en-suite rooms, each with its own entrance opening onto the courtyard with a heated swimming pool. Every room has been furnished with solid dark wood furniture and include a queen size bed, ample build-in cupboards, a desk and chair as well as a comfortable easy chair. Each room has air conditioning, as well as under floor heating in both the bedroom and bathroom. Other features include:• 52cm TV & DVD player• full hospitality DSTV bouquet• dressing table with large mirror & additional full length mirror. • hair dryer• mini bar• electronic safe. It is, however, the bathrooms that will truly impress the discerning traveller. Apart from the bath and the large, separate shower, double basins are set on either side of the bath along with ample shelving for guests’ toiletries, etc. With power outages a reality in South Africa the possibility of a cold shower is very real – but not at Blackheath Manor! Our hot water system is based on sophisticated gas- fired geysers which will continue to provide hot water even after prolonged power outages.An uninterrupted power supply (UPS) system has also been installed which will ensure that each room has at least one light and one plug point (dedicated to laptops) that will continue to operate when there is a power cut. Lounge & Dining Room. Guests are invited to relax in the spacious lounge where they can read, watch TV, join other guests for a chat or entertain their visitors. Adjacent to the lounge is the dining room, bar and patio where scrumptious traditional or fusion breakfast is served to guests and where our conference delegates can enjoy their meals. After a hard day’s work (or fun!), guests can enjoy drinks in the relaxed atmosphere of the informal bar, or on the patio while watching the sun set over our beautiful, landscaped garden. Board Room: Our fully air-conditioned board room, which comfortably seats 14 to 16 people around a boardroom table, has a folding door which opens one complete wall leading onto the courtyard and swimming pool, ensuring a relaxed yet private atmosphere to work in. Full internet access as well as DSTV is available and any equipment you may require (data projectors, TV sets, screens, white boards etc.), will be arranged. Tea/coffee and lunch is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blackheath Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.