We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great T-bone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grillhouse Rosebank

The Grillhouse Rosebank
Cnr Oxford Road and Bierman Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 880 3945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 762 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Winner of best independent steakhouse in Johannesburg 7 years running. 20 Years in operation and internationally recognised.
Germiston, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great T-bone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

While the welcome was curt, the rest of the service was good. Had a lovely steak with pepper sauce. I enjoyed reading through the wine list and we eventually chose the Rust & Vrede (can't go wrong with them).

All in all a good evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    148
    40
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yummy steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a meal at this fab restaurant - I have to state that possibly one of the best steaks I've ever eaten! The staff were very attentive and helpful and the price was extremely reasonable. All in all would highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic mead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

So of the two places in Johannesburg *Butchershop and Grillhouse( I will rank this as the best. The steak I got here was just so tender and nice, the service very friendly although it could be in danger of downgrading it to 4. The surroundings makes this much better than Butchershop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice alternative to the butcher shop ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Note : this review is for the Grillhouse in Sandton, not for the venue in Rosebank.

The pros : excellent meat (special mention to the fillet on the bone and ostrich), tasty side orders, excellent service by Michelle, interesting wine list, convenient shuttle to/from hotels in Sandton.

The cons : out of oysters for our 2 visits (after recommending them as a special...)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you want a large, good steak then this is the place to go. They don't really do much else than meet, and it's a kind of busy, get you in and get you out kind of place. The portions are large, and as standard they put a slightly sweet glaze on your steak which as a European I found not to be to my taste .

The restuarant is very large and in a mall, so if you like that sort of thing it's fine - but this isn't an intimate, fine dining experience. It's a steak house that does good (not amazing) steaks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grillhouse Rosebank also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grillhouse Rosebank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.