We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steaks and service, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grillhouse Rosebank

The Grillhouse Rosebank
C/O Oxford Road & Bierman Avenu | Shop 70, The Firs / Hyatt Shopping Centre, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 880 3945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 817 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Grillhouse, Johannesburg's most loved and well established premium steakhouse. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers the perfect quadfecta in dining - great food, a huge selection of fine wines and malts, stellar service and an upmarket yet warm and hospitable atmosphere.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and service, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent steaks and service.

A little bit expensive, everything other than the meat and one starch is charged extra.

Will visit again but not often.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    213
    51
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic ribs and steaks in Johannesburg an absolute institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you looking for fantastic meat, good service, an extremely large wine list, service to match and a good atmosphere go to the Grillhouse. We take many overseas guests there because it is always good! Katzy's next door is a nice place for live music and an after dinner drink. Enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked originally for Katzy's which is a jazz bar next door - but the food comes from here! Based in Rosebank shopping, we headed to Katzy's for a group night out to celebrate a friend's birthday. Sat outside Katzy's then it poured with rain - the cover was not strong enough to keep us dry! Moved inside then waited AGES whilst they tried to rehouse us - eventually next door in The Grillhouse. Food was OK - although my 200g fillet looked like a sorry neighbour compared to my friend's exactly the same order! Thought the bill was quite high - though we were enjoying ourselves - then had to wrestle with the mgt to get our R100 each cover charge back - we were in Katzy's for about 5 minutes of the music. Thought that under the circumstances , the service would have been a lot better. Will go back to try it without complicating it with the Katzy's addition (which looked a great jazz club!)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pretty Good - noisy aircon !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went back to Sandton, Atholl Square restaurant. Good start by getting a free GrillHouse shuttle from the Hilton (and in fact a good finish as it took us back again !). There were two of us and we got taken to the top floor which had a reasonable atmosphere but quite noisy aircon so moved as far away from this as was possible but it was still slightly obtrusive. The restaurant was pleasently busy, especially for a Monday, but the service was still pretty good. Had no starters, in anticipation of a big main course, but the bread was a nice start to the meal. I had the mid size fillet, colleague had chicken breast, both were very good and I struggled to finish all my meat. Steak was done exactly as requested and complimented with a good house cabernet. This is my third time here and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Top steakhouse in Jhb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Grillhouse never fails to disappoint as one of Johannesburgs best steakhouses. Decor is authentically "steakhouse-ish" and waiters appear to be in character too. Bread is DIVINE - do not skip even if you are on a low carb diet! Largest wine menu I've seen (even though i do not indulge). Steak always done to perfection with a wide variety of sides and sauces. Always busy and perfect for occasions and business meetings. The Rosebank branch has awesome private dining rooms which you may book. Do try Katzys next door too for good entertainment especially on a Thursday or Saturday!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grillhouse Rosebank also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grillhouse Rosebank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.