We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good - noisy aircon !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grillhouse

The Grillhouse
Cor Oxford Road and Bierman Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg, South Africa
011 880 3945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 726 restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Winner of best independent steakhouse in Johannesburg 7 years running. 15 years in operation and internationally recognised.
South of England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pretty Good - noisy aircon !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went back to Sandton, Atholl Square restaurant. Good start by getting a free GrillHouse shuttle from the Hilton (and in fact a good finish as it took us back again !). There were two of us and we got taken to the top floor which had a reasonable atmosphere but quite noisy aircon so moved as far away from this as was possible but it was still slightly obtrusive. The restaurant was pleasently busy, especially for a Monday, but the service was still pretty good. Had no starters, in anticipation of a big main course, but the bread was a nice start to the meal. I had the mid size fillet, colleague had chicken breast, both were very good and I struggled to finish all my meat. Steak was done exactly as requested and complimented with a good house cabernet. This is my third time here and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    188
    120
    24
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Top steakhouse in Jhb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Grillhouse never fails to disappoint as one of Johannesburgs best steakhouses. Decor is authentically "steakhouse-ish" and waiters appear to be in character too. Bread is DIVINE - do not skip even if you are on a low carb diet! Largest wine menu I've seen (even though i do not indulge). Steak always done to perfection with a wide variety of sides and sauces. Always busy and perfect for occasions and business meetings. The Rosebank branch has awesome private dining rooms which you may book. Do try Katzys next door too for good entertainment especially on a Thursday or Saturday!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Steak in wine bar environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Love this place. This is the 3rd time we've been and the food never disappoints. Their steaks are to die for !!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Steaks in Joburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The best quality meat in Joburg. Well priced and excellent wine cellar. A must for visitors and when you just need a great steak

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant steak restaurant with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to this restaurant before and on my most recent I was on my own on business and decided to grab a steak. I was offered a seat in the bar area and was able to enjoy a starter of fresh oysters followed by a fillet on the bone steak which was huge - delicious and perfectly cooked - but more than I could manage! The staff were very attentive and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grillhouse also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grillhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.