We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true star hotel - loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clico Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clico Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Clico Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hallevik, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A true star hotel - loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful little hotel. I just loved it.
This was the first time but I will definitely come back again.
The staff are so friendly and they are doing their outmost to help you. The breakfast is delicious and very relaxing.
The atmosphere is great and after a few days you feel so relaxed. Perfect.
Nice sitting by the pool, sipping a glass of champagne.
Saturday evening we booked in for the tasting menu. What an experience. I am very picky but honestly I loved everything.
I wish I had booked for some more days but I will definitely come back to this little place of heaven.
Birgit/Sweden

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Our team at Clico was very touched by your kind review. We take such pleasure in hearing from guests that see our little haven for what it is, appreciate the service our staff has to offer and last but not least, have a great appreciation for our cuisine. We are delighted that you had such a super stay and truly hope we may welcome you back again soon!

With warmest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
29
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

A great choice for business travellers. Particularly loved the excellent food. Very friendly staff. Would recommend to all visitors in Rosebank area. Only area of improvement is a slight update on interior - a bit fraid

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for speaking so highly of our little hotel. We would love to welcome you back and hope that a soft refurbishment is soon on the cards to fix the little snags that need to be looked at.

Kindest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to Clico for my Birthday and had so much fun. It's a beautiful, quaint setting; the food is amazing and the staff attentive and friendly. Really a superb experience. Loved the butternut soup appetiser

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Reading that your Birthday was enhanced by a positive experience at Clico is a great delight. It was wonderful to have you dine with us and we hope that it was not the last time that we may spoil you with a nice setting and delicious culinary delights.

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When we arrived at Clio, we realized that we had left one of our bags at the airport. The hotel helped us retrieve it and arranged a special dinner to accommodate our travel plans. Beautiful grounds in a lovely suburb and a great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review - we are glad your bag could be retrieved and that the rest of your stay in Johannesburg ended on a high and positive note! Please come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in September for a night. It is arranged around a beautiful garden with swimming pool. The staff were really helpful in assisting us with arranging excursions at short notice, and breakfast was very good. They also allowed us to stay on for an extra half day, for a fee, so that we could shower and change before going to the airport to catch a long haul flight. The décor in the bedroom was not quite up to a 5 star hotel - that is our only negative impression.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for pointing out your positive thoughts on our establishment and service. We would love to hear more about your suggestions and comments on our in room décor - would you mind sharing these with us a little more via email? This would give us a chance to work on some improvement where improvement might be due. We look forward to hearing from you!

Kindest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyogle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We would recommend Clico to all our friends. It was a beautiful, safe place to stay.The staff are excellent. Nothing is a bother to them The attention to detail at Clico is wonderful. We felt we were amongst friends from the moment my husband and I arrived. The room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. If we asked for anything, the staff attended to our needs quickly, and always with a big smile!!! We felt we could wander around as if it was our own home. 5 stars to Clico. Bernard and Kathleen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued Guests,

The Clico team was very touched to read your kind words about them and their service. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope it was not your last visit to our establishment! Thank you for staying with us and for pointing out our positive points - we really appreciate and value your business!

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at the Clico Boutique Hotel for one night in October 2013. Although the hotel was described as "five stars," I would give it 3. The room was pretty basic, and the walls are paper thin. Seriously, you can hear everything that's going on in the hallway and in other rooms. It was also difficult to get the attention of the front desk staff. Oftentimes they'd be on a break or in another room, and you'd have to wait a while for them to come around.

My biggest criterion in selecting a Jozi hotel was for it to be in a secure neighborhood. Rosebank is nice, although a little far outside the city. You can walk about 10 minutes to the Rosebank Gautrain station, which is helpful. There's a nice shopping mall there. From Rosebank, you can get to the airport and to the Park station (close to downtown) very easily.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

We really were sorry to read your comments and that you particularly felt our hotel was noisy. It is not a complaint we have received frequently but we will surely monitor it and see if any improvement is necessary. With regards to the availability of our manager on duty, we regret that you felt he / she were never available when needed. Being a small hotel they are often busy in other areas and hence can be reached via portable by dialling an internal extension or a pager system located at reception should they have had to step away from their desk.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and will certainly take it on board to see if improvements are required. Despite your experience, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Clico on another occasion, for a more positive stay.

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clico Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clico Boutique Hotel

Address: 27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clico Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, Clico Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in the leafy and upmarket suburb of Rosebank in Johannesburg – South Africa. Centrally located to the “Joburg” city centre, high end business hubs such as Melrose and Sandton and metres away from the Rosebank Clinic, Clico’s location is convenience at your fingertips. Just 900 metres away from the Rosebank Gautrain station, the OR Tambo International airport is now only 20 “stress free” minutes away. Clico was established by Jeanette Schwegman, who wanted to cater for the travel-weary and discerning guest looking for that intimate experience by paying attention to all the important details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Clico Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clico Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.