We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Johannesburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilali Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilali Guest House
19 Chester Rd | cnr 3rd Ave, Parkwood, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 229 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Secret Johannesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

An enchanted garden lies behind an unimposing wall and within lies a calm, restorative home from home. Hannia and her team ensure that your needs are taken care of in a reassuring and understated manner.
Convenient location, great restaurants and bars in the area and within easy reach of the Gautrain station for Rosebank.

Room Tip: The Courtyard room is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hannia has renovated a typical small charming house in Parkmore (close to Rosebank and Parktown North shops and restaurants) into a beautifully designed oasis. While on a busy street, they have taken great pains to shelter the guesthouse from noise. Beautiful rooms, free WiFi, delicious breakfast and Tracey, one of the nicest and most thoughtful staff I have ever encountered. I would recommend Ilali to any traveller who wants a taste of Johannesburg hospitality.

Room Tip: I stayed in The Sweet, which is spacious with a stand alone luxurious bath in the room. My colleague...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I am almost reluctant to share this gem of a place. Well located in one of Johannesburg's better neighborhoods, near several galleries, good shopping, Although near a major thoroughfare, Ilali guest house is a quiet sanctuary. The decor is modern, fun and colorful, the breakfasts are plentiful and served in a sunny dining room by Tracy the very helpful assistant. Can't get much better than this even at the best hotel.

Room Tip: Different sizes but all have there charms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Apart from the gorgeous ecclectic decor and friendly staff, it is hard to beat Ilali's central location in the heart of Joburg's old leafy suburbs. I loved the fact that the hip and trendy Parktown North restraurants and shops were within walking distance from the guest house and it was easy to navigate from Ilali to the rest of my meetings around the CBD, northern suburbs and Pretoria. The staff suggested some fantastic new places to see and visit. As a frequent traveller to Joburg I am thrilled to have found a place that is as comfortable as it is authentic and shows why so many people love living in this often maligned city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The guest house was tastefully decorated, every small need was attended to and thought through. It is in a good area, close to most amenities. From a person who enjoys daily excersise's point of view it is also great since one can run in the close by Zoo park in safety (I am a female so this is a factor) and there is also an olympic size swimming pool that one can utilise within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We came to South Africa and more specifically Johannesburg not knowing exactly what to expect, but when we left we were full of experiences that have now become fond memories. Most of this is due to the service and treatment we received during our one week stay at the Ilali Guest House_where the proprietors went above and beyond to make sure that we were accommodated in a personal and professional manner.

The Ilali Guest House is discretely located in the neighborhood of Rosebank. The area provided easy access to many of J'burgs art galleries, convenience to shopping area, and was walking distance to a scenic park with a lake_ The premises impressed us with it's creative/ artistic content from landscaped court yards to the layout and decor of the rooms and art work hanging on the walls.

The service was considerate and included a morning breakfast that would be the envy of many five star hotels. Their hospitality even extended above and beyond the call of duty to assist us when we had lost a credit card in the local malfunctioning bank machine.

I would not only recommend the Ilali Guest House which I have done even during our stay by having a business associate stop by for his overnight business trip to J'burg_but I would also definitely stay there again ...and plan to on my next trip to South Africa in the coming year

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Beautyfully designed rooms with perfect service and friendly people. Very nice island of relaxation and loung-feeling! If you´re looking for a cosy, well managed place to stay this is the one! We have been to many hotels and guest houses during the soccer world cup and this is our absolut favourite place!! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ilali Guest House, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind review of ilali. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Johannesburg. Having only been open a short while, the World Cup was our first challenge and we loved every minute of it. We continue to adjust the "finishing touches", to improve our offering here at ilali. In a way we hope that we never finish those "finishing touches" in order to continue delighting our guests.
Many thanks again for your thoughts.
Hannia Weber
Owner and Manager
ilali guest house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilali Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilali Guest House

Address: 19 Chester Rd | cnr 3rd Ave, Parkwood, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilali is a small boutique guest house for visitors to Joburg who want to retreat to a comfortable and safe space after dipping into the city’s vibrant business or social life. The house has an old Joburg aesthetic with a contemporary edge, reflecting local art, craft and interior design. The five generous en-suite bedrooms are well appointed, with crisp linen, satellite TV, tea and coffee tray, magazines, and a laptop safe. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilali Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ilali Guest House to your Saves list