We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thaba Eco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thaba Eco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thaba Eco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2053, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Package
Ranked #8 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Exceptional weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Recently we had the opportunity to bring together a large group of family and friends from South Africa, USA and UK to celebrate our wedding and a very special birthday. Thaba Ya Batswana turned out to be the perfect venue. The venue is close to Johannesburg and very convenient for air and road travellers. It was close enough for day guests, and onsite accommodation for those travelling further. Our aim was to have our guests interacting and mingling with each other. The restaurant provided a superb buffet within a country style setting. The added opportunity for our friends to spend time with the lion cubs and to enjoy the nature reserve and other facilities provided more opportunity to catch up with the latest family news and meet old friends. This exceptional weekend will not easily be forgotten.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
18
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location and great views, with a wild life feel, you woulldn't know you're in Johannesburg. It was a great place to freshen up after a hectic year. We had team building games, which were great, a wonderful lunch followed and a great evening with dinner with all kinds of meat and variety. It's very safe and one can relax and enjoy the peace.

Room Tip: Have a team building session if you're travelling with a group of friends of colleagues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights over the weekend at Thaba Ya Batswana, Our booking were are disaster and if I had not made a phone call to confirm the weekend would have been disastrous ( Booking done via booking.com I always use them so a first) Management responded quickly and professionally and resolved the issues. We attended a wedding and were impressed by service, venue and food.
The Suite was spacious and had the wow factor on entrance only once one started using the suite the discomfort of bathroom toilet and dressing in one room become oh too apparent.
As a one night stay to attend weddings/conferences it is perfect
The spa was good and we enjoyed our massage.

Room Tip: All Suites were good and don't believe any one has an attraction over any other. I rate this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, General Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mr Douglas Pullen

I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete this survey, as it assists us in correcting our service shortcomings and I would like to assure you that we take your comments very seriously.

We have noted that the booking was made through bookings.com, we will get in contact with them regarding the booking experience you had, we sincerely apologizes that the process was not hassle free.

We have made a mistake by not placing the hamper in your room upon arrival, and we are glad that this was sorted, however this should have been checked. The matter will be addressed with our Rooms Division team.

Please will you be so kind as to what voucher you are referring to in your post?

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thaba Ya Batswana - Eco Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,

Maruis Botes

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Minutes away from central Johannesburg, this eco friendly hotel is situated in a nature reserve. It is a specialist venue for conferences, functions and weddings, but is also a fabulous venue for breakaways. The setting is lovely, accommodations are beautifully furnished suites, with cavernous and opulent bathrooms. Luxury toiletries are from Crabtree and Evelyn. Food is hearty, though not haute cuisine. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We recently booked this venue for my sisters wedding and the venue is beautiful,amazing setting,we booked 4 rooms for the night before and requested a few things prior to arrival, however there was a lack of communication between the relevant parties involved and some things were over looked by the hotel and the venue staff.

We checked in on Saturday evening only to be told our bookings were made for the next night however a gentleman by the name of Paul arranged rooms for us within an hour.The rooms are beautiful and spacious with stunning views,they are extremely clean,the bathrooms are massive,a good breakfast and an overall lovely hotel,you don't feel as though you are a stones throw away from the city.

The cons were that the arrangements I had made with the wedding co-ordinator with regards to details for our rooms and the hall for the wedding were not all fulfilled,although minor they should not have been overlooked,I have still not heard a word back from her till today as she said she would drop me an e-mail the week of the wedding to confirms these things- disappointing.
A very odd thing missing was there were no tissues in the room.

The wedding was amazing,the view breathtaking-highly recommend this wedding venue.

A huge thank you to Paul for your help in arranging the last minute details and taking the time to check in on the bridal party.

I would recommend this hotel but ensure everything is in writing or in an e-mail.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Nasmia

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing important areas for improvement to our attention. It is very important for us at Thaba Ya Batswana to be aware of such feedback and to ensure that our valued customers are always our first and foremost priority.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our venue. We are truly blessed to have such beautiful natural surroundings.

I have investigated the issues raised in your review. We would like to state that your sisters wedding was a Halaal wedding which was outsourced to a Halaal Caterer and Wedding coordinator. Thaba Ya Batswana was not involved in the planning the actual running, staffing or catering of the event.

With regards to the Hotel Rooms, our Company policy is that all rooms need to be secured with credit card details or full payment before check in. We had not received any thing from you and also could not reach you on the contact details provided to us. Therefore we cancelled the four provisional rooms but we are glad to hear that Paul assisted in reinstating these bookings for you on the day.

We do believe in creating lifelong friendships and this is what we hope to establish with you over time.

Please contact me should you require the details of the suppliers to resolve any matters you might have.

Our aim at Thaba Ya Batswana is to offer our clients an unforgettable experience every time and look forward to having them back for all occasions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance.


Kind regards
TARYN PORTEOUS
Sales & Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our business accommodation was booked at this "home away from home" hotel. It was a wonderful way to relax and feel refreshed after a week of hectic business activities. The breath taking views and general feeling of calm and tranquility were appreciated by the delegates from all over the world.The staff are friendly, helpful,very efficient and always ready with a smile. The rooms are spacious,clean and have a great atmosphere with specific and creative decor. A very good night sleep is on the menu!
The Kraal restaurant did an awesome job at accommodating the needs and demands of us all and thanks to them we pulled off an amazing celebratory dinner.
Of course the Lion cubs were a highlight for many in our group, the experience of a cuddle with the babies is one that will be mentioned in our company for a long time still.
This hotel is a definite for business, family or a romantic getaway - I hope to see the Thaba family soon! A very well done to Paul and Taryn from Thaba Ya Batswana for coordinating our stay with ease.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was really an amazing surprise, what a beautiful set up and awesome room, great service and attention to detail. Next time i will be back with the all family. I loved the baby Lions project concept. please keep the good job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thaba Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Eco Hotel

Address: 46 Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2053, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Eco Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the tranquil and picturesque Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, one finds a piece of Highveld Heaven in the form of the impressive Thaba Eco Hotel. A decade of passion has resulted in brand renowned for world class customer service. Thaba Eco Hotel has recently been voted as the BEST 4 Star hotel in Gauteng at the Lilizela Tourism Awards, and is now also a registered FAIR TRADE tourism certified business. The design of Thaba Eco hotel was inspired by the historical and environmental elements of the Tswana Mountains. With the luxury, executive and Bushveld suites, guests have a variety of room types to choose from. As part of their Green Policy, Thaba Eco Hotel has incorporated several creative and positive measures to contribute to the sustainability of both the area and the planet as a whole. All hotel rooms have been designed with the environment in mind. Colours of the exterior of the buildings represents the stone and tree bark to reduce visual impact, and only 50% of the Bushveld suites floor plan touches the ground to ensure the maximum protection of the fauna and flora. Thaba Eco Hotel also has a variety of stunning venues for weddings, conferences and other functions, such as the Marquee, Lobola and Tswana Banquet Halls. Leisure activities include the Sinzinani Day Spa, Meditation Trail, Guided Hiking Trails and the popular Thaba Lions Educational Centre. For the future generation our Eco Kids Club provides educational nature walks and various other leisure activities.We have also realised that hospitality and tantalising food goes hand in hand, and have therefore put together a team of world renowned chefs to attend to everybody's culinary requirements. At our Olive Tree Coffee Shop one can indulge in a slice of freshly baked bar-one chocolate cake next to a 500 year old Wild Olive Tree, while enjoying an aromatic coffee or sipping on one of our herbal teas.The impeccable facilities and breath taking natural surroundings ensure that Thaba Eco Hotel is the venue of choice for both the corporate and leisure markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Thaba Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaba Eco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.