We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thaba Eco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thaba Eco Hotel to your Saves list
Thaba Eco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2053, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Love Month Special
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Fabulous Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Minutes away from central Johannesburg, this eco friendly hotel is situated in a nature reserve. It is a specialist venue for conferences, functions and weddings, but is also a fabulous venue for breakaways. The setting is lovely, accommodations are beautifully furnished suites, with cavernous and opulent bathrooms. Luxury toiletries are from Crabtree and Evelyn. Food is hearty, though not haute cuisine. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Greg W

We are blessed to be surrounded by the beautiful nature reserve and that our conference, functions, weddings and beautifully furnished suites met your expectations. We look forward to your return to Thaba Eco Hotel.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
25
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We recently booked this venue for my sisters wedding and the venue is beautiful,amazing setting,we booked 4 rooms for the night before and requested a few things prior to arrival, however there was a lack of communication between the relevant parties involved and some things were over looked by the hotel and the venue staff.

We checked in on Saturday evening only to be told our bookings were made for the next night however a gentleman by the name of Paul arranged rooms for us within an hour.The rooms are beautiful and spacious with stunning views,they are extremely clean,the bathrooms are massive,a good breakfast and an overall lovely hotel,you don't feel as though you are a stones throw away from the city.

The cons were that the arrangements I had made with the wedding co-ordinator with regards to details for our rooms and the hall for the wedding were not all fulfilled,although minor they should not have been overlooked,I have still not heard a word back from her till today as she said she would drop me an e-mail the week of the wedding to confirms these things- disappointing.
A very odd thing missing was there were no tissues in the room.

The wedding was amazing,the view breathtaking-highly recommend this wedding venue.

A huge thank you to Paul for your help in arranging the last minute details and taking the time to check in on the bridal party.

I would recommend this hotel but ensure everything is in writing or in an e-mail.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Nasmia

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing important areas for improvement to our attention. It is very important for us at Thaba Ya Batswana to be aware of such feedback and to ensure that our valued customers are always our first and foremost priority.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our venue. We are truly blessed to have such beautiful natural surroundings.

I have investigated the issues raised in your review. We would like to state that your sisters wedding was a Halaal wedding which was outsourced to a Halaal Caterer and Wedding coordinator. Thaba Ya Batswana was not involved in the planning the actual running, staffing or catering of the event.

With regards to the Hotel Rooms, our Company policy is that all rooms need to be secured with credit card details or full payment before check in. We had not received any thing from you and also could not reach you on the contact details provided to us. Therefore we cancelled the four provisional rooms but we are glad to hear that Paul assisted in reinstating these bookings for you on the day.

We do believe in creating lifelong friendships and this is what we hope to establish with you over time.

Please contact me should you require the details of the suppliers to resolve any matters you might have.

Our aim at Thaba Ya Batswana is to offer our clients an unforgettable experience every time and look forward to having them back for all occasions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance.


Kind regards
TARYN PORTEOUS
Sales & Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our business accommodation was booked at this "home away from home" hotel. It was a wonderful way to relax and feel refreshed after a week of hectic business activities. The breath taking views and general feeling of calm and tranquility were appreciated by the delegates from all over the world.The staff are friendly, helpful,very efficient and always ready with a smile. The rooms are spacious,clean and have a great atmosphere with specific and creative decor. A very good night sleep is on the menu!
The Kraal restaurant did an awesome job at accommodating the needs and demands of us all and thanks to them we pulled off an amazing celebratory dinner.
Of course the Lion cubs were a highlight for many in our group, the experience of a cuddle with the babies is one that will be mentioned in our company for a long time still.
This hotel is a definite for business, family or a romantic getaway - I hope to see the Thaba family soon! A very well done to Paul and Taryn from Thaba Ya Batswana for coordinating our stay with ease.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Lynden K


We are pleased to know that we met your traveller’s expectations with our service, hotel rooms, food, especially as your guests were from different countries whose each demand was met in accordance to their specific needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was really an amazing surprise, what a beautiful set up and awesome room, great service and attention to detail. Next time i will be back with the all family. I loved the baby Lions project concept. please keep the good job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear PauloGoncalves69

We are excited to know that you were surprised with our beautiful rooms, great service and attention to detail. We can’t wait for when you bring your family back to experience our awesome hotel.

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our conference was held at this world class hotel & lodge, the choice of global market leaders. From the minute you enter through the gates, you forget that you are in one of the busiest cities. Breathtaking views of the Southern part of Joburg, friendly staff right down from the cleaners to the MD, everywhere we went we were greeted with a smile and someone offering to assist with luggage, finding the way, etc. Conference facilities must be the best in the world, with great food and snacks and lots to drink. Fantastic rooms, with everything you need & more, the food at The Kraal Restaurant outstanding. The highlight was our interactive session with the lion cubs, a mere 4 weeks old, climbing all over us. Truly an awesome experience.

Room Tip: The eco apartments is a must stay as well as the Kraal area rooms - we stayed in 203 with own little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Wow, thank you Melanie665 for your feedback.

From the time you entered at security to the time you were greeted by our MD and were assisted by our porters we could tell you had an amazing experience.

We are also thrilled to know that you thought our hotel rooms were fantastic and that the food at our Kraal Kombuis Restaurant met your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you back at Thaba Eco Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

There are different reasons why people stay at a hotel. Sometimes its for business, sometimes for a wedding, sometimes it is merely an escape from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. I stayed at Thaba this weekend to visit with some friends, this was my second stay as I stayed here also in 2011.

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, from Finland across the globe to India, and I have learned along the way what makes a good hotel, but also what it is that makes a great hotel. Thaba for me is a great hotel. The basics are there, clean rooms, good food and friendly service. But more than that they strive for excellence. For example, the service is not just friendly, it is also calm and unobtrusive; and when there is a problem it is dealt with efficiently and without making you feel uncomfortable and demanding. The rooms are not just clean, they are crisp with soothing colours and comfortable and stylish furniture. And the food is not just good, it tantalizes and makes you want more!

Thaba is also about the complete experience. They have a range of other activities available to their clients including the fabulous Thaba Lions! What a delight to be able to come up close and personal with the King of the Jungle. I had the opportunity to hold and play with the little cubs. Just be careful that you don't turn into a toy for the cubs yourself as they are quite inquisitive and won't hesitate to get a playful bite in while playing!

I would definitely recommend Thaba Ya Batswana any day!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms as the best view ever!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Karenn

Thank you for the wonderful review from a globetrotter such as yourself.

We are pleased that our service was not just basic but excellent and our staff have honoured the values of professionalism that we strive to achieve in our service to all our guests.

We look forward to see you again soon and thank you for recommending Thaba Eco Hotel.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It has been a long time since my wife and I have gone away alone. So I decided to go onto the NET and find a place not to far from the concrete jungle as we only had one night, I discovered THABA YA BATSWANA . A mere 30 min drive from Boksburg and we were in Heven. It is not just a destination it is home away from home.I dont know where to start,from the welcoming at security to the staff at reception,the drive to our rooms, the massive clean rooms with rose pettles and gift basket, amazing views,the welcome refreshments and treats at our dinner venue,the decor on our tables,the great staff compliment per customer /table,the excellent taste and presentation of the food (their went the diet).And of course the smile on the beautiful wifes face as this was all a surprise for her.The next morning we went for breakfast,all the goodies a fantastic breakfast should consist of. After filling our bellys we went to the Lion Cubs Park,two mins walk away.That is where my wife fell in love again (not with me but the cubs).We spend some time playing with them and then had to leave to get back to the hustle and bustle.What a great experience from start to end. I would again like to thank all at THABA YA BATSWANA .Pictures are on face book.

Room Tip: All look great,amazing sun sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn H, Reservaions Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear ClintB

We are thrilled that your wife left Thaba Eco Hotel with a smile on her face.

We always aim to under promise and over deliver as you have seen in all the little details during your stay.

Since you are just around the corner we look forward to hosting you soon when you return for your next breakaway from the concrete jungle.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thaba Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Eco Hotel

Address: 46 Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2053, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Eco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the tranquil and picturesque Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, one finds a piece of Highveld Heaven in the form of the impressive Thaba Eco Hotel. A decade of passion has resulted in brand renowned for world class customer service. Thaba Eco Hotel has recently been voted as the BEST 4 Star hotel in Gauteng at the Lilizela Tourism Awards, and is now also a registered FAIR TRADE tourism certified business. The design of Thaba Eco hotel was inspired by the historical and environmental elements of the Tswana Mountains. With the luxury, executive and Bushveld suites, guests have a variety of room types to choose from. As part of their Green Policy, Thaba Eco Hotel has incorporated several creative and positive measures to contribute to the sustainability of both the area and the planet as a whole. All hotel rooms have been designed with the environment in mind. Colours of the exterior of the buildings represents the stone and tree bark to reduce visual impact, and only 50% of the Bushveld suites floor plan touches the ground to ensure the maximum protection of the fauna and flora. Thaba Eco Hotel also has a variety of stunning venues for weddings, conferences and other functions, such as the Marquee, Lobola and Tswana Banquet Halls. Leisure activities include the Sinzinani Day Spa, Meditation Trail, Guided Hiking Trails and the popular Thaba Lions Educational Centre. For the future generation our Eco Kids Club provides educational nature walks and various other leisure activities.We have also realised that hospitality and tantalising food goes hand in hand, and have therefore put together a team of world renowned chefs to attend to everybody's culinary requirements. At our Olive Tree Coffee Shop one can indulge in a slice of freshly baked bar-one chocolate cake next to a 500 year old Wild Olive Tree, while enjoying an aromatic coffee or sipping on one of our herbal teas.The impeccable facilities and breath taking natural surroundings ensure that Thaba Eco Hotel is the venue of choice for both the corporate and leisure markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Thaba Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaba Eco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.