We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il Tartufo

il Tartufo
Hutton Court, 1 Summit Road | Cnr. Jan Smuts Avenue, Hyde Park 2196, Johannesburg, South Africa
011 7888948
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 728 restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Just around the corner from Backpackers Ritz Youth Hostel. Fantastic real Italian food, some of the best I have tasted, including in Italy! Reasonably priced and excellent value for money!
Restaurant details
Description: Just around the corner from Backpackers Ritz Youth Hostel. Fantastic real Italian food, some of the best I have tasted, including in Italy! Reasonably priced and excellent value for money!
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is the best Italian restaurant that I have been to in Joburg. It is set in a shopping centre which is a bit of a pity but, once you get inside the décor and atmosphere is great. Zoran, the manager and the Italian chef whose name I did not get, really look after you.
The salmon tagliatelle pasta that I had was devine. Loved the wine that Zoran recommended and it went well with my pasta dish.
I loved the fact that everything is freshly homemade - it is all delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    22
    7
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Massive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

It was on a Wednesday evening at 7. Since its a midweek day, I and my wife thought it would be best to go to Tartufo for tha very first time. As we parked our car tha security was already next to tha drivers door, knowing our property is in safe hands; tha manager Zoran was already by tha door side with one of tha waiters David to welcome us. Tha welcome was super fine. As my husband tried to mention reservation for two; Zoran spit my husband's name out, giving us way to our table as if we have known each other for a longh time. As we sat down two glasses of Prossecco. In no time at all tha waiter Knowledge was running us through tha menu, wonderful service it was. For starters we had Creme brulee asparagus that tested like nothing on earth. It was tha best dish I have tested. We had Ravioli basil for mains followed by Tiramisu for desert. That's a ten out ten to chef Omar. Then a Limoncello and Amaro Montenigro as tha original Italian tradition. I'm definitely going back again. Thanks to all your great food and service. *****

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Italian Flavor in Jhb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The truffle pasta is the most memorable I have had! The stuff makes you feel at home, every dish is full of flavour and taste! One of the best Italian spots I have come across!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebank, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good food - Austere setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This has got to be some of the best Italian food that I have ever tasted - divine! The homemade pasta & veal, that amazing asparagus crème brulee - it is all very, very good.

The wine was also good but there were not so many Italian choices.

The restaurant itself just seemed a bit 'cold' - probably as it was not very busy - which is really a shame as this place is well worth supporting. The music could be a bit louder and better so you don't have to whisper over the quietness.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Italian Excellance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

What fantastic food. From the asparagus crème brulee through to the home made pastas - it is a treat. Lovely, friendly service and the cutest Italian chef. Quite sublime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il Tartufo also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to il Tartufo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il Tartufo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.