We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Winchester Lodge to your Saves list
Winchester Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Magaliesberg Street | Winchester Hills, Johannesburg 2091, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Booked for my father as a birthday suprise, he was so impressed with the service and the breakfast prepared by the owner, he just mentioned that it was a said departure. When visiting joburg again " I wont think twice" he said. Thnx a lot for your excellent service Mr Alan & your Mistress, keep it up. Robert Bhayi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Allens personal attention really added to the already amazing accomodation, the views are fantastic, the rooms are emaculate, it really is a GEM hidden in the suburbs, the whole experience was fantastic!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed with my fiancee after doing a long shoot and needed somewhere to stay overnight, as i m an Actress on rhythm city (s.a local soapie- best ensembled soapie)an the hospitality was amazing!Homely and very friendly the room was absolutly classy and comfortable.The owner Allen allowed us to stay at the bar and personally served us at the Bar till late!Karen and Allen thank you for going the extra mile.Will definatly be coming back.Fiona

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Winchester Lodge is a mixed hostel / lodge / B&B with a mix of long-term tenants and overnight visitors. First impressions were poor. No one answering the gate, messy entrance hall, the family's kids running around next to a blaring TV...

After staying in so many lovely bed and breakfast places in SA we were quite put off, and my gf wanted to leave. But we said nothing and were shown to our room.

The room itself was very nice, expensively furnished, with lots of space, a jacuzzi bath and huge shower. It had a balcony, though the wood was creaking and looked like it would collapse if walked on.

While the room itself was good quality, and Alan and his wife were friendly and helpful, what we really missed is that there is nowhere nice to sit and relax. The only communal area is the "bar", which seemed to be used as the owner's family room and usually had a loud TV on, even at breakfast, so felt unwelcoming.

If you're looking for a room for a few nights and don't want to socialise with others then this place could suit you well. The room we had was lovely. However, as a holiday b and b it unfortunately falls short of what you get elsewhere for a similar price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I came to attend our Annual Bible Conference in Johannesburg and decided we were going to stay at Winchester Lodge. We would like to truthfully say the place is excellent. The service is outstanding, Lovely staff. Winchester Lodge felt like home to us.
Room service was without a doubt the best compared to most of the places we used stay in the past 5 years of annual conference.
We would like to recommend this place to anyone and say you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Alan for having us !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalaborwa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

After staying in a few lodges/B&B''s that were really sub-standard, I was reluctant to stay in a lodge again. Our company booked me into Winchester Lodge for 3 nights and my first thoughts were that I hoped this lodge would at least be up to scratch. Well let me just put any prospective visitor's minds at ease because Winchester Lodge is absolutely superb, definately easily worth the star rating. My 'room' was just perfect. Spotless is an understatement. Comfortable to a tee with just all you need from coffe/tea (fresh milk), fridge, desk, beautiful bathroom, heating, stylish furniture and a great comfortable bed. The food is fantastic, the service is outstanding. It's a place of warmth and friendliness. Thank you Alan and your wife for being the perfect hosts, the great service, the great conversation and the great food. And another great big bonus are the rates. Unbeatable value in my book. I will be back as Arnie used to say...........

Room Tip: I stayed in room 10(double bed) and it was just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Sampson, Owner at Winchester Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Neil, thank you, so much, for your kind comments - you write such wonderful poetic pros, I reckon you should become a Travel Critic !
I'm also happy that we have, in some small way, restored your faith in the B&B and Guest Lodge industry. In future, if in doubt, consult Trip Adviser !
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope your new-found romance flourishes so that we can look forward to entertaining you both when you stay here again - on Honeymoon !
Kind Regards, Alan & Karren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had my best honeymoon with the help of Mr.Allan of Winchester Lodge...its been 5 months ago when we went there,the place was so nice, and also the staff the food are great and i love it.Our room is the best so clean, fresh and romantic hehehe.. everything you need they have it.The Pool area was great too.My hubby and i had a really fanatastic honeymoon, so im calling to those honeymooner's i highly recommend the winchester lodge for you to stay in Mr.Allan Sampson well be there for you to assist everything you want and to have a joyful stay.Just want to say thank you to all the people there at Wicnhester Lodge we do really feel lucky and it was incredible!!

Hope to be there again soon..

Thanks.

Jennifer- DUBAI -U.A.E

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Lodge

Address: 40 Magaliesberg Street | Winchester Hills, Johannesburg 2091, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Winchester Lodge rises up the hillside in the prestigious and secure suburb of Winchester Hills, Johannesburg and consists of 15 Luxury en suite Units and a Superior Deluxe Suite with double balconies commanding stunning views across Africa! A veritable paradise amid graceful palms, exotic shrubs and perfumed flora. Most of our patrons are repeat guests having come to enjoy the personalized attention to detail that has become our Hallmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Winchester Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.