We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Rosebank Mall and Gautrain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rosebank Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
75 Rutland Rd., Parkwood | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 270 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Close to the Rosebank Mall and Gautrain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in room number 8 (superior) and 3 nights in room number 6 (executive). We liked the executive room better because it was more comfortable and much warmer. It was freezing the first night, even with the under carpet heating. The second day we asked reception for a radiator, which was put in our room and made it ok to be there. What we thought was uncalled for was a note left in our room with "instructions" on how to keep warm in the South African winter. It was like if they were saying we had exaggerated about the first room being cold the first night. Other than that, it is close to the mall (though it wasn't recommended to do so, we walked to the mall and to the zoo and had no problem) and Gautrain (we went on our own to Pretoria). Staff was nice and helpful, English breakfast was good, location was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella_MBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessanne, General Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Stella,

How nice to hear from you.

You last stayed with us at the beginning of August 2012 whilst accompanying your mum and dad, all three of you in one room. I am uncertain why this review arrived 18 months after your stay, or why the dates you mention do not correspond, nor understand your grading criteria.

Our guest's well being is absolutely vital to us! ie this means we go to a lot of trouble to make sure our guests are comfortable in our 5* beds, as well as warm.

Our regular clients from a 5* boutique hotel on the French Riviera feel quite differently to you, and give that particular room a 5* rating.

May the year 2014 be all you and your parents dreamed it would be

Warm regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Martha's Vineyard
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed for a week. A really nice place. Everything I expected it to be. Ann, the owner/hostess is very pleasant and caring about her guests. Lovely little garden. Room was perfect, staff friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albrigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

After my 3 night stay here I tried to think of something that was wrong with the place and couldn't come up with anything. An absolute pleasure to stay at. Easy walking distance from the Gautrain. I highly recommend staying here.

They don't have a restaurant or room service but they were happy to order a meal for me from Mr Delivery and they brought it to my room with their own crockery and cutlery. There is a safe in the room and my room had lots of cupboard space. A wide choice of food for breakfast was also available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed at Rosebank Lodge for one night before flying out of Joburg. Our room and bathroom were beautiful, and opened onto a pretty garden and small patio area.
The hotel feels very secure, and is handily located for the Gautrain and the Rosebank mall, where we had dinner.
Anne and Ellie were friendly and very helpful, and we were able to leave our car at the hotel for a few hours after we had checked out, which was much appreciated.
A very good choice for a short stay in Joburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Rosebank Lodge for 3 nights at the beginning of our 6 week African adventure, we received a warm and friendly welcome. Our garden room was an oasis of calm in the busy suburb of Rosebank, only a 10 minute safe walk to the Gautrain station and the Rosebank shopping mall.
Great breakfast offering a good variety of fresh fruit, cereals and cooked eggs anyway you like, bacon and mushrooms. Our host was always on hand for advice and help, wether it was booking a local restaurant, ordering a taxi or offering a lift to the station.
A great place to stay in a safe suburb of Johannesberg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rosebank Lodge is like a breath of fresh air in the city. While the accommodation has a lovely serene atmosphere, it is located within walking distance of malls, hospitals and restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable (even the standard room) and the breakfasts most satisfying. The attention to detail by Anne makes this establishment stand out above its peers - lovely soft music, sufficient plug points, a wonderful selection of books, and personal attention to her guests. All in all an excellent stay and I will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay in a perfectly safe location (electric wires, 3m high safety fence) just outside of Joburg, this place is for you. And it is just a roughly 10-15 minute walk from the Rosebank Gautrain stop if you're so inclined.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottEversonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#6 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#32 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebank Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Address: 75 Rutland Rd., Parkwood | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank Lodge Guest House is well situated just three blocks from the Rosebank Mall, and two and a half blocks from the new Rosebank Gautrain station. It is an ideal location for the corporate as well as the leisure traveller. Several rooms overlook a landscaped garden, most with private entrances or garden entrances and were upgraded recently to include LCD TVs with DSTV decoders, complimentary wifi, crisp percale linen, 5* legacy mattresses - ensuring your comfort whilst you are away from home, amidst the hustle and bustle of the central Rosebank business district. Some rooms feature full bathrooms and luxurious king sized beds as well as a business area for checking on those important email responses etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosebank Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing