We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, caring BB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rosebank Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
75 Rutland Rd., Parkwood | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 234 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming, caring BB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms. Good, personal breakfast. Convenient location. All topped off by the thoughtful, caring attitude of the staff!
the staff recommended using the services of the Rose taxi service-never have i experienced more gentlemanly, slow taxi drivers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
31
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are looking for the comfort of a business hotel with the ambiance and the atmosphere of a small genuine South African B&B in a safe and pleasant neighbourhood, stay here.

Location is excellent. 5 minutes walk to the Rosebank Mall with many nice shops and eateries and the African Craft Market. Also near the motorway which connects CBD with Sandton, the northern suburbs and Pretoria. The bigger and more luxurious Sandton City Mall and Nelson Mandela Square in Sandton are only a couple of minutes drive away (just driving up north Oxford Road) or a singe stop on the Gautrain, which station is a 5 minutes walk away.

The guest house is very intimate, yet the rooms have all the amenities of a business hotel while having a stylish urban touch. The owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are super comfortable, certainly the best bed I have stayed in this price range! Free WiFi and good breakfast.

I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anybody going to Joburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Warm, welcoming, safe place to stay, with pretty gardens and quiet, restful rooms. The breakfasts are exceptional. The facility is just minutes' walk from the impressive Rosebank Mall and the Gautrain station.
Anne (the owner) runs an efficient staff, who cater to guests' every need.

Room Tip: This is a small place with only eight rooms; they're all very well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This discreet and stylishly decorated guest house is everything I needed for a quiet and looked after stay. It's plus points for me is that there was always someone on hand to offer advice, book taxis or cars to the airport and offer even to fix a simple evening meal if I didn't want to go out - or to get takeaway food delivered.
The other important thing is it's location - a ten minute walk to the Rosebank Mall and offices - and also just 25 mins to the airport.
The owner is charming and caring.also the rates are very reasonable for the location.

Room Tip: All rooms lead on to the garden so it goes according to your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Owner at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We love meeting such special guests!

Thank you for your wonderful comments which I have shared with our staff. We are delighted to hear that we were able to assist you at this time and that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again some time in the future and wish you and your family Seasons greetings at this special time.

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a superior room.

The lodge is in a quiet, tree-lined street. While the outside looks uninviting, having the high walls typical of many suburban properties in SA, once inside, the surroundings are delightful.
The garden around the house is well tended and has some lovely flowers. There is a small swimming pool. All the rooms and facilities are ground floor and it would be easy access for a disabled person.

Our room had two double beds and was very comfortable
.
There is a writing desk and lamp, as well as a dressing table (without direct lighting).
Two comfortable chairs faced a large screen TV and DVD player (no DVDs are provided) and there was a fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and crockery and cutlery. The very clean bathroom had bath and shower, good towels and toiletries. Overall bathroom lighting is bright but a light over the basin mirror would be helpful.

Breakfast was good, if not exceptional, comprising fresh fruit, yogurts and home baked muffins. Four standard cereals are provided, but not muesli. Decaffeinated instant is available. A “full English” and variations thereon is available. A nice selection of spreads and preserves is provided.

What differentiates the Rosebank Lodge from other guesthouses is the superb customer service. The owner was away for a few months and had left Robyn in charge. She could not have chosen better as nothing was too much trouble for this young lady. She booked taxis, ordered takeaways, printed out maps, gave us advice, let us use the office computer to check-in for our flight and much more.

The lounge has the daily paper and a nice selection of books. There is wi-fi throughout, although you seem to need to be near the lounge/office to establish the connection initially.

I had wanted to stay in the Rosebank area as I remembered it as a safe and relaxed suburb from a previous stay some years ago, and this proved still to be the case. We felt no threat when we walked around in the day or evening. I mention this because so many people in UK are frightened to visit any part of Johannesburg.

The Mall of Rosebank and adjacent shopping areas are less than ten minutes’ walk. (By the way, avoid the Kuzina restaurant, see my separate review). The Gautrain, direct to the airport, is near the mall, although it does not run after 8PM. We walked to the Zoo Lake in about 25 minutes. Sandton, with its huge shopping and eating facilities, is about 20 minutes by taxi (we went to the theatre there).

Strangely enough, after almost 3 weeks in high-risk malaria areas, this was the only place where we had to exterminate a couple of mosquitoes in the room each night. They may not carry malaria in Jo’burg but their whining noise (and bites) can be quite annoying. I had my own electric mosquito killer which we used after the first night, but perhaps guests should be warned and a killer unit or spray provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Rosebank Lodge Guest House (next to the Rosebank Mall, just off Oxford rd), Johannesburg and wonderful service from our staff!

Thank you for your informative review and overview of our facilities which include a very special SA muesli, daily displayed daily on the buffet table.

By way of explanation: insects love the light and will always be drawn to the light. Therefore our best advice would be to keep the fly screens down on the open windows and the doors closed when the lights are put on in the garden rooms. Insect repellants as a matter of course, are available in all our garden rooms on the top shelf, in case of need.

Wishing you many more wonderful day of travel

Rosebank Lodge Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great Place , after spending our honeymoon in capetown we needed a place to unwind and do a bit of site seeing in joburg , We chose Rosebank lodge due to its close proximity to the malls ( rosebank mall and sandton) and Gautrain station,
The Executive room was superb big and clean , very cosy.
We even got a Complimentry sparkling wine to celebrate our honeymoon though we just mentioned at the breakfast table , Thanks Anne, great place you got there. Great hospitality too.

Room Tip: Executive room is a must very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Tony and Pauline, you were such a very special couple and we were so delighted you chose to spend this special time with us! Thank you for your delightful review.
Warm regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Rosebank Lodge Guest House was our home away from home while traveling in South Africa during the World Cup 2010. Great accomodations located near resteraunts, shopping and attractions. Anne made us feel so comfortable, and her personal attention was amazing. The breakfast was cooked to order and the staff was very attentive. I would highly recommend Rosebank for anyone visiting Johannesburg who wants to feel comfortable and safe so far away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. The time spent with you and your family and the quality guests you brought along, was such a highlight in the life of our Rosebank Lodge Guest House.

May you have many many more succesfull World Cup times!

Warmest regards to all
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosebank Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Address: 75 Rutland Rd., Parkwood | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank Lodge Guest House is well situated just three blocks from the Rosebank Mall, and two and a half blocks from the new Rosebank Gautrain station. It is an ideal location for the corporate as well as the leisure traveller. Several rooms overlook a landscaped garden, most with private entrances or garden entrances and were upgraded recently to include LCD TVs with DSTV decoders, complimentary wifi, crisp percale linen, 5* legacy mattresses - ensuring your comfort whilst you are away from home, amidst the hustle and bustle of the central Rosebank business district. Some rooms feature full bathrooms and luxurious king sized beds as well as a business area for checking on those important email responses etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rosebank Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebank Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.