We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B with superb customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rosebank Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
75 Rutland Rd., Parkwood | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Exceptional B&B with superb customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a superior room.

The lodge is in a quiet, tree-lined street. While the outside looks uninviting, having the high walls typical of many suburban properties in SA, once inside, the surroundings are delightful.
The garden around the house is well tended and has some lovely flowers. There is a small swimming pool. All the rooms and facilities are ground floor and it would be easy access for a disabled person.

Our room had two double beds and was very comfortable
.
There is a writing desk and lamp, as well as a dressing table (without direct lighting).
Two comfortable chairs faced a large screen TV and DVD player (no DVDs are provided) and there was a fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and crockery and cutlery. The very clean bathroom had bath and shower, good towels and toiletries. Overall bathroom lighting is bright but a light over the basin mirror would be helpful.

Breakfast was good, if not exceptional, comprising fresh fruit, yogurts and home baked muffins. Four standard cereals are provided, but not muesli. Decaffeinated instant is available. A “full English” and variations thereon is available. A nice selection of spreads and preserves is provided.

What differentiates the Rosebank Lodge from other guesthouses is the superb customer service. The owner was away for a few months and had left Robyn in charge. She could not have chosen better as nothing was too much trouble for this young lady. She booked taxis, ordered takeaways, printed out maps, gave us advice, let us use the office computer to check-in for our flight and much more.

The lounge has the daily paper and a nice selection of books. There is wi-fi throughout, although you seem to need to be near the lounge/office to establish the connection initially.

I had wanted to stay in the Rosebank area as I remembered it as a safe and relaxed suburb from a previous stay some years ago, and this proved still to be the case. We felt no threat when we walked around in the day or evening. I mention this because so many people in UK are frightened to visit any part of Johannesburg.

The Mall of Rosebank and adjacent shopping areas are less than ten minutes’ walk. (By the way, avoid the Kuzina restaurant, see my separate review). The Gautrain, direct to the airport, is near the mall, although it does not run after 8PM. We walked to the Zoo Lake in about 25 minutes. Sandton, with its huge shopping and eating facilities, is about 20 minutes by taxi (we went to the theatre there).

Strangely enough, after almost 3 weeks in high-risk malaria areas, this was the only place where we had to exterminate a couple of mosquitoes in the room each night. They may not carry malaria in Jo’burg but their whining noise (and bites) can be quite annoying. I had my own electric mosquito killer which we used after the first night, but perhaps guests should be warned and a killer unit or spray provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Rosebank Lodge Guest House (next to the Rosebank Mall, just off Oxford rd), Johannesburg and wonderful service from our staff!

Thank you for your informative review and overview of our facilities which include a very special SA muesli, daily displayed daily on the buffet table.

By way of explanation: insects love the light and will always be drawn to the light. Therefore our best advice would be to keep the fly screens down on the open windows and the doors closed when the lights are put on in the garden rooms. Insect repellants as a matter of course, are available in all our garden rooms on the top shelf, in case of need.

Wishing you many more wonderful day of travel

Rosebank Lodge Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
31
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great Place , after spending our honeymoon in capetown we needed a place to unwind and do a bit of site seeing in joburg , We chose Rosebank lodge due to its close proximity to the malls ( rosebank mall and sandton) and Gautrain station,
The Executive room was superb big and clean , very cosy.
We even got a Complimentry sparkling wine to celebrate our honeymoon though we just mentioned at the breakfast table , Thanks Anne, great place you got there. Great hospitality too.

Room Tip: Executive room is a must very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Tony and Pauline, you were such a very special couple and we were so delighted you chose to spend this special time with us! Thank you for your delightful review.
Warm regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Rosebank Lodge Guest House was our home away from home while traveling in South Africa during the World Cup 2010. Great accomodations located near resteraunts, shopping and attractions. Anne made us feel so comfortable, and her personal attention was amazing. The breakfast was cooked to order and the staff was very attentive. I would highly recommend Rosebank for anyone visiting Johannesburg who wants to feel comfortable and safe so far away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. The time spent with you and your family and the quality guests you brought along, was such a highlight in the life of our Rosebank Lodge Guest House.

May you have many many more succesfull World Cup times!

Warmest regards to all
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

we were stopping at johannesburg at the end of our south africa trip and decided to book the guesthouse instead of a hotel.. we found the room quite small and facilities below our expectations, but it was manageable.. it is 15-20min walk from the rosebank mall so no shortage of food & shopping options.. but it is advisable not to walk around at night.. we booked a car for airport taxi/drop but other option is the gautrain which stops at rosebank station (across the mall)..

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
This review is misdirected. We are a 5 minute walk from the Rosebank Mall.
Secondly we have not had Indian visitors this year.

We are not a Backpacking Inn. We are a well established corporate guesthouse with

1. Excellent Value offering best prices in this elite business district
2. Sleep Quality - our mattresses are 5* Legacy Hotel mattresses
3. Our establishment offers a very high standard of cleanliness
4. Our location is outstanding - close to the Gautrain and the Mall
5. Our rooms are extremely well appointed and well decorated
6. Although different persons come on duty at different times, our service to everyone has always been graded as excellent.
7. Security is one of our top priorities

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Rosebank Lodge as we were in Johannesburg for a family wedding. We were so impressed with the personal service we received from Anne and her staff. She took such good care of us while we were there; we hated to leave. The breakfast food that was available each day was very plentiful and delicious with eggs to order each morning. We had wanted an iron to touch up our clothes for the wedding and Anne made arrangements with Rosie to iron them for us. Anne gave us a cell phone to use during our stay which was so incredibly helpful so we didn't have to use our phone to make a costly call for a taxi. She offered to pick us up from the market on Sunday so that we could have some extra time rather than walking back. She was always offering to help us with whatever we needed and we so appreciated everything she did for us. Attention to detail to make her guests feel comfortable and meet their every need is truly her speciality. We will never forget her kindness and for making our visit to Johannesburg truly memorable. This is a lovely place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear R & T,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Take care
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Lovely small boutique hotel close to the rosebank mall. Room was large and nicely decorated. Pillows were great ( I hate hard big pillows). Best was the service - like going to visit welcoming family. And the price was right including a home made breakfast to your liking. Lovely place. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had a delightful stay at Rosebank Lodge for two weeks.. Anne was a delight and always there to help you if needed, as were her "girls". The rooms were lovely, quite spacious and beautifully appointed, all set around a very peaceful garden and pool. It was very convenient for the town which you could easerly walk to if you didn't want to drive. The breakfast was delicious. Anne goes out of her way to help you in any way, above and beyond what is expected. I would recommend Rosebank Lodge very highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind and realistic review!

We so enjoyed getting to know you and have you stay with us, in two different rooms, for those two weeks and will never forget your thoughtfulness and kindness to our staff.

Should we ever be in your area, we would most definitely look you up!

Manager
authentic Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosebank Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Address: 75 Rutland Rd., Parkwood | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank Lodge Guest House is well situated just three blocks from the Rosebank Mall, and two and a half blocks from the new Rosebank Gautrain station. It is an ideal location for the corporate as well as the leisure traveller. Several rooms overlook a landscaped garden, most with private entrances or garden entrances and were upgraded recently to include LCD TVs with DSTV decoders, complimentary wifi, crisp percale linen, 5* legacy mattresses - ensuring your comfort whilst you are away from home, amidst the hustle and bustle of the central Rosebank business district. Some rooms feature full bathrooms and luxurious king sized beds as well as a business area for checking on those important email responses etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rosebank Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebank Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.