We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Save Saved
You added Rosebank Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
75 Rutland Rd., Parkwood | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

we were stopping at johannesburg at the end of our south africa trip and decided to book the guesthouse instead of a hotel.. we found the room quite small and facilities below our expectations, but it was manageable.. it is 15-20min walk from the rosebank mall so no shortage of food & shopping options.. but it is advisable not to walk around at night.. we booked a car for airport taxi/drop but other option is the gautrain which stops at rosebank station (across the mall)..

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
This review is misdirected. We are a 5 minute walk from the Rosebank Mall.
Secondly we have not had Indian visitors this year.

We are not a Backpacking Inn. We are a well established corporate guesthouse with

1. Excellent Value offering best prices in this elite business district
2. Sleep Quality - our mattresses are 5* Legacy Hotel mattresses
3. Our establishment offers a very high standard of cleanliness
4. Our location is outstanding - close to the Gautrain and the Mall
5. Our rooms are extremely well appointed and well decorated
6. Although different persons come on duty at different times, our service to everyone has always been graded as excellent.
7. Security is one of our top priorities

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
30
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Rosebank Lodge as we were in Johannesburg for a family wedding. We were so impressed with the personal service we received from Anne and her staff. She took such good care of us while we were there; we hated to leave. The breakfast food that was available each day was very plentiful and delicious with eggs to order each morning. We had wanted an iron to touch up our clothes for the wedding and Anne made arrangements with Rosie to iron them for us. Anne gave us a cell phone to use during our stay which was so incredibly helpful so we didn't have to use our phone to make a costly call for a taxi. She offered to pick us up from the market on Sunday so that we could have some extra time rather than walking back. She was always offering to help us with whatever we needed and we so appreciated everything she did for us. Attention to detail to make her guests feel comfortable and meet their every need is truly her speciality. We will never forget her kindness and for making our visit to Johannesburg truly memorable. This is a lovely place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear R & T,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Take care
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Lovely small boutique hotel close to the rosebank mall. Room was large and nicely decorated. Pillows were great ( I hate hard big pillows). Best was the service - like going to visit welcoming family. And the price was right including a home made breakfast to your liking. Lovely place. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had a delightful stay at Rosebank Lodge for two weeks.. Anne was a delight and always there to help you if needed, as were her "girls". The rooms were lovely, quite spacious and beautifully appointed, all set around a very peaceful garden and pool. It was very convenient for the town which you could easerly walk to if you didn't want to drive. The breakfast was delicious. Anne goes out of her way to help you in any way, above and beyond what is expected. I would recommend Rosebank Lodge very highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind and realistic review!

We so enjoyed getting to know you and have you stay with us, in two different rooms, for those two weeks and will never forget your thoughtfulness and kindness to our staff.

Should we ever be in your area, we would most definitely look you up!

Manager
authentic Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Do not hesitate to book this accommodation you will be well looked after, comfortably accommodated and most of all very secure. Anne and her staff will do everything possible to ensure that you enjoy your stay with them.

Room Tip: front room, spacious and well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the Rosebank Lodge for two nights at the end of April 2012. It was our first trip to Johannesburg for eight years and we were a little apprehensive. Rosebank Lodge is well located near to the Rosebank Mall (walking distance), the Gautrain station and with easy access to motorways around Johannesburg.

It is a beautiful old house, tastefully decorated, with attention to detail. It was peaceful and tranquil with lovely gardens and a sparkling swimming pool. We felt completely safe behind the high walls and electric fence. We booked the superior suite, which was spacious and comfortable, with sliding doors onto the garden and pool area.

Breakfast was prepared by the very capable Rosie to a high standard and we could choose to be seated in the small dining room or outdoors on the patio. For standard rooms, where space may be limited, Rosebank Lodge has an ample lounge/TV area and covered patio, so there is space for everyone.

Thank you, Anne, for your kind hospitality.

Room Tip: The superior suite is very private, quiet and perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you aren't an independent traveler, this might be a good option. We certainly found more than a hint of the "old" South Africa here, particularly in some of the comments made by the proprietor. Walking distance to mall, comfortable rooms.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellnessadvisor, Manager at Rosebank Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you Dido for your response. Not having met you, I find it difficult to comment in return. To recap: We are not a backpacking inn. We are a well established corporate guesthouse with
1. Excellent Value offering best prices in this elite business district
2. Sleep Quality - our mattresses are 5* Legacy Hotel mattresses
3. Our establishment offers a very high standard of cleanliness
4. Our location is outstanding - close to the Gautrain and the Mall
5. Our rooms are extremely well appointed and well decorated
6. Although different persons come on duty at different times, our service to everyone has always been graded as excellent.
7. Security is one of our top priorities!

All in all a visit to us would benefit you well.

Kindest regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosebank Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Address: 75 Rutland Rd., Parkwood | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank Lodge Guest House is well situated just three blocks from the Rosebank Mall, and two and a half blocks from the new Rosebank Gautrain station. It is an ideal location for the corporate as well as the leisure traveller. Several rooms overlook a landscaped garden, most with private entrances or garden entrances and were upgraded recently to include LCD TVs with DSTV decoders, complimentary wifi, crisp percale linen, 5* legacy mattresses - ensuring your comfort whilst you are away from home, amidst the hustle and bustle of the central Rosebank business district. Some rooms feature full bathrooms and luxurious king sized beds as well as a business area for checking on those important email responses etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rosebank Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebank Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.