We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mohlware Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mohlware Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Mohlware Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   297a Quorn Drive | North Riding A.H, Johannesburg 2040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Midweek break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Clean and comfy room (albeit a little run down). Neat grounds but pool not clean, with great little farmyard next door for kids. Lodge is secure and well-located near malls. However, room had NO information on lodge facilities or amenities (during our stay, there was no restaurant or spa services). Staff were accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The rooms are very tacky. Not the cleanest looking space. Our room was the only one with an Aircon, which unfortunately did not work. The pictures paint a very different room to the actual. We actually checked out a day early.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Sound proofing of the rooms could do as the rooms are very close to each other & during breakfast, the waiter should be visible for assistance esp when outside. The tv is very small - bad viewing quality. Overall it's good value for money and very relaxed atmosphere, well taken care of facilities & the location is just perfect if you don't want to drive for long. You to read a book, feed the rabbits, take a walk, swim go for a massage all within the premises.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Not as good as it looked on the website. Food was very average yet overpriced. Wouldn't say I got value for my money. However, Lorraine was extremely friendly and so was the rest of the staff which made for a pleasant stay. More maintenance and proper upkeep is needed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My stay at Mohlware lodge was unfortunately not the best i have had. My friends were staying in the main bedroom which was ironically the worst room. The decor in the room looked old and dull and there was an odour of stale cigarettes and fur. We ultimately requested if they could be moved to a different room. The upside to my stay was that the staff was very friendly and helpful especially Lorraine and Blessings, they were great. I tried to warm my food in the microwave one morning and it was very unhygenic and put me off going to the kitchen to use the crockery or cutlery there. Mohlware should attempt to improve its decor by making it more modern and less dark and dindgy. The outside area was nice

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The first thing that always grabs me is the the welcome you get when you get to a place. The staff at Mohlware were very friendly, sense of humor on point and the hospitality unscatched.

Throughout our stay a sense of ubuntu lingered and that rubbed off on fellow guests. We had a blust. The chalet were had rented was spacious and exactly what we needed for self catering purposes.

The only thing I could fault them on was housekeeping. Throughout the weekend there was zilch house keeping which is standard even with self catering accomodation. If you have four guests, you provide four towels and you change them every morning when you change the linen. All we got was two towels, one toilet paper and we had to deal with an overflowing dustbin.

One other thing which wasn't a problem for us because we weren't there to sleep a lot, the pipes are noisey, and it's footsteps from the top chalets.

But overall, a very pleasent experiance, it felt like we weren't anywhere near the city, but with the convinience of knowing that should we need to get supplies we can quickly dash out.

I would definately go back there again and recommend the place.

Room Tip: If you want a quiter room, ask for a top floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The place is excellent and up to standard. I enjoyed the calmness and the quietness of the guest house. Its really good for people who do not want disturbances and being far from the madding crowd. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohlware Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohlware Guest Lodge

Address: 297a Quorn Drive | North Riding A.H, Johannesburg 2040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mohlware Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North Riding Nature Reserve in Johannesburg, Mohlware lodge offers luxurious accommodation less than 2km from The Coca Cola Dome and Northgate Shopping Centre. Set in rich bushland area, it offers glimpses of African wildlife such as the Springbok, Zebra and Impala. A free shuttle is offered to Northgate Shopping Centre and The Dome 3 times a day. All rooms offer a blend contemporary design and traditional wooden décor with more than 5 self contained cottages and 12 bedrooms, all with exclusive bathrooms, mini bar and access to free wireless internet. all have access to a coffee shop, bar and restuarant. Each one boasts soft earthy colors and is also equipped with a 20-inch (50 cm) LCD TV and DStv. Facilities at Mohlware Lodge include a day spa, barbecue options and an outdoor swimming pool.There is also an airport transfer service available. The lodge is a 20 minute drive from local attractions such as the Lion Park, Monte Casino and Fourways Mall. Come and experience bush living just a km away from the hustle and bustle of the city - shop at Northgate shopping centre or attend a conference or event at The Dome and walk down into the bush lodge where animals roam free less than 2km away. most of our rooms are fitted with victorian bathrooms, kitchenettes with a microwave and tea making facilities, from King, queen and twin beds - the choice is yours Our 8 seater bus can either pick you up from Lanseria Airport just 10 minutes away or OR Tambo International airport just 20 minutes away at a nominal fee while you can have access to the city's hub through our free shuttle to Northgate Shopping Mall 3 times per day - please note that this facility only moves around at certain times. However, you can still hire our taxi service to fulfill your errands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mohlware Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohlware Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.