We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands on Retreat -the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hands On Retreat Craighall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hands On Retreat Craighall to your Saves list
Hands On Retreat Craighall
4 Argyle Avenue CRAIGHALL | Type Randburg in Gps, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
DATE NIGHT SLEEP & SPA
Ranked #27 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
“Hands on Retreat -the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A Big thank you from us (Omri Cronje & Talita Cronje) for making our stay so memorable and absolutely amazing.

Luxury, pampering, and friendly, are all words which describe the decadent spa. It's a warm hidden sanctuary, perfect for those needing a luxurious escape. The friendly masseuses creating a homey, yet classy atmosphere. Our Romantic couple treatments were great from friday night till sunday.

I'm so glad we had an opportunity to enjoy and experience the service at Hands on Retreat, Sandton. The place is absolutely amazing, love the green trees, and Rose gardens.


A HUGE thanks to Karin and team for making us feel so safe whilst there, and also to our personal Chef- Jean Pierre, your food were DEVINE!!!!

Greetings

Room Tip: Dream Unit -5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for this fantastic review, we are so glad that we could accommodate you. Best of luck with your pregnancy, we hope to see you back here for the full experience when you need to unwind again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    31
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
71
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Planning my trip at the last minute was rather stressful but once we arrived at Hands on Retreat I immediately felt relaxed and at peace. I could not believe that a place so tranquil would be in the middle of JHB. It felt like we were in another province and a million miles away from the nearest town.

The staff were very accommodating and friendly which was great and also allowed us to ease into our room rather well.

I am also pleased to say a big Thank you to Karin for been so flexible regarding our booking and the spa treatment which we needed the next day and not on arrival. The breakfast was lovely and I am very happy they could wait until after our spa treatment and gave no fuss of this.

All and all a splendid stay at Hands on Retreat. I will definitely be back and perhaps with the same person but not as friends this time. A great place to relax and let go of all the stresses in life and just have some fun and spark some romance back into ones love life.

Thank you to Karin and her staff for a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our oasis in the city, it is always our pleasure to accommodate you in every way we can. We can't wait to have you back again, and perhaps next time you can book a romantic picnic for two with a love a letter kit. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The grounds and rooms are very romantic, and totally unexpected for the middle of Sandton. The room had everything that you would need for a one night stay. I booked the room on very short notice, and was very happy they could help me, as I would not have been able to make use of the groupon voucher otherwise.

I was very pregnant, so could not experience the massage, but my husband had only good things to say about he's session. I did make use of the onsite hairdresser, who was wonderful. Breakfast was just enough, and all the staff very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for this fantastic review, we are so glad that we could accommodate you. Best of luck with your pregnancy, we hope to see you back here for the full experience when you need to unwind again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a very nice experience at Hands On Retreat from a groupon that I bought for my girlfriend's birthday.
Karin was extremely friendly and very helpful, and the staff that performed the treatments were the same.
The evening's dinner was brought to our room and was worth every cent. Which wasn't that much, as I believe their pricing is very reasonable.
The groupon voucher was very good value for money, and I would recommend them to anyone that is looking to get some R&R without travelling too far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Time and time again, Hands On has proven to be the best place to have an intimate celebration with your loved one, and with the great voucher deals available, its also an absolute steal. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed a night here to start off our trip to South Africa. We had a coupon for our stay so we also took advantage of the spa services with a relaxing neck and shoulder massage. The property is beautiful with lots of outdoor seating to enjoy the plants, wildlife and sunshine. The staff was all very kind and helpful and helped to arrange transport upon checkout.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you on your next stay in South Africa. Thanks for this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I would love to thank Karin and her wonderful staff for one of the most amazing stop-overs ever! The pampering we had and the lovely and warm staff made our stay at Hands On Retreat an unforgettable one!
We highly recommend Hands On and give them a Five Star rating!! Keep it up guys!!
And how sweet is the welcome note on the little chalkboard by the door of our room?!?!?!
Chinaville & Bronwyn Vries (Windhoek, Namibia)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We find that lots of love and personal touches is the key to an unforgettable experience, we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

From a Neck head and shoulder massage to welcome you, hours of pampering later, finishing of Champagne in the juquzi to 4 and 5 course meals, picnic baskets with a unique love letter jar, and the friendliest staff you can imagine. This stop have to be part of your bucket list! This is truly amazing, the rustic gardens and high tea ander huge 30 to 40 year old trees, while having a complete freeze frame in the continual sequence of life. This is all you'll ever need in the midst of Johannesburg NB. The carrot cake and apple pie you can not miss.

THANX a mill to a great team making our 31 st anniversary special. Vic and Vanessa

Room Tip: On the stoop looking over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We're delighted to see you have had such a great experience at Hands On, its our pleasure to make your 31st Anniversary so memorable. Thanks for the great review, we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
2.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#18 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seven Streams B&B
Seven Streams B&B
#5 of 67 in Sandton
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 260 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blackheath Manor Guest House
Blackheath Manor Guest House
#6 of 260 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hands On Retreat Craighall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hands On Retreat Craighall

Address: 4 Argyle Avenue CRAIGHALL | Type Randburg in Gps, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT LOCATION and BEST VALUE for money! We are centrally situated in the upmarket "Parks" area of Northern Johannesburg and give easy access to our surrounding suburbs of Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg whether by car or public transport. 10 Minutes drives from the Sandton and Rosebank Gautrain station and the use of UBer taxi services are advised (use code martinal if first time user to get R90 off your 1st ride).Transport can be arranged from OR Tambo, however quickest way is to use the GAUTRAIN. 6 Double on- suite rooms with private garden access, with small kitchenette ideal for LONG STAYS for the deserning business or leasure traveller. SECURE OFF STREET PARKING with own remote control. All rooms have a seperate bath and shower. 1 WHEEL CHAIR friendly room and all beds are queen size. FREE High speed internet and our ON-SITE COFFEE SHOP makes our venue ideal for breakfast and lunch meetings. WALKING distance to Hacklebrook Conference and 10 minutes drive to SANDTON Convention Center. DINNER trays by arrangements On- Site HAIRDRESSER and SPA. 5 Minutes walk to VALLEY SHOPPING Centre: Woolworths, Clicks, Bottle Store, Vodacom, Butcher, Coffee shops and Laundromat 5 mintues walk from Pick , Pay and Planett Fitness 5 minutes to KFC and Mc Dondalds take aways Delicious breakfasts are served from 7h00 to 10h00 to order on our patio which opens out onto a garden abundant of trees and bird life. You also have enough space in front of your room to enjoy our wonderful Johannesburg afternoons sipping sundowners ordered from our coffee shop Cold days are warmed by a roaring log fire in our dining room. RATES DROP FOR WEEKLY AND MONTHLY STAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hands On Retreat Craighall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hands On Retreat Craighall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.