We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our two night stay at Holiday Inn Rosebank - just a short stay enroute Victoria Falls to Mauritius - its proximity to the Gautrain made access so easy and safe to and from the airport - the train & the stations appear brand new & not many people were using it. Just walk out of the station and straight into the Holiday Inn. (Mind you, you do have to change trains at Sandton but this was not a problem!) The hotel has private access to the Rosebank Mall which has loads of good shopping and heaps of good restaurants - the Mall area is massive and has security all over so no problems walking alone anywhere there.
Our room was very contemporary and clean - the only problem we had was with the air conditioning - it kept getting really hot and really cold during both nights.
Front desk staff were helpful and we booked a private tour to Soweto through them and was pleased with the driver they selected.
Breakfast was good with plenty of fresh food along with a good selection.
Yes I would stay there again & do recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Grateful thanks for your recent review of our hotel and please accept my sincere apology for the intermittent fault on the air conditioning system, which will be rectified immediately. I was pleased to note that all other aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations and thank you for your kind comments realting to our team. Our location and proximity to the Gautrain and private direct access to the Zone Shopping Centre are unique features which many of our guests find appealing. We do hope to be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    97
    28
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
35
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I grew up in Memphis where Holiday Inn originated. Over the years have seen them steadily decline but have to say I was very pleased with my stay at the Holiday Inn at Rosebank in Johannesburg. Would stay there again, and would be a good place to leave the wife while working.

Warren is an excellent bartender as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel relating to your recent stay. I was pleased that we were able to provide great service and that you had a memorable stay. Warren is one of our team members who excels at his job aand is a true ambassador for our brand. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have been staying in a lot of Holiday Inns recently and this was a reward night. Staff were excellent, room was exactly what you would expect and the venue ideal for Gautrain, shopping and accessing the city. Underground secure parking was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was delighted to learn that everything was to your satisfaction and that you found the location and access to Gautrain, Shops and offices to be convenient. We hope to be of service to you soon.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It is always better to stay in Rosebank or Sandton rather than the Downtown area, Holiday Inn Rosebank is right next to two malls...eating, shopping is very close by in fact connected from inside the hotel itself. The Subway station is steps away and you can always go to Sandton for shopping. Sadnton has bigger malls and more variety.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Location to the shopping malls and the Gautrain station are a value added benefit which most of our guests find brings a sense of ease and comfort to their stay. The Gautrain is 5 minutes away from Sandton and with a quick change at Sandton a further 12 minutes to OR Tambo International Airport. Once again thank you for your great review and we look forward to being of servcie to you in the future.
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I just finished a 3 day conference at the hotel. The service was excellent and the staff helpful, friendly and have obviously been well trained. We ended up having a serious medical emergency when one of the delegates took ill. The speed with which the hotel staff, everyone from conferencing to management acted was truly commendable. They stayed with the sick delegate till the ambulance and paramedics arrived. I can highly recommend this hotel for conferencing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent conference with us and we were most perturbed to learn that one of the delegates took ill suddenly and our concern was to get medical assistance as soon as possible. Many thanks for your great comments on our hotel and especially our team at the hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent two nights here recently. Our room (on the 8th (and highest) floor), had nice views over the nearby surrounds. The bed was comfie, with an adequately sized room. A nice touch was the choice of soft or firm pillows, and the small coffee making area (complete with fridge). The shower over bath had good water pressure and a multi-nozzle allowing for adjustment of the spray. The daily buffet breakfast was great, with pretty much everything you could want! We didn't use the gym (choosing to use a fully-equipped gym in the nearby mall), but it would have been sufficient with an elliptical trainer, stat bike, and 3 treadmills. It is appropriately called a "mini" gym, but it's better than not having one at all. This Holiday Inn is positioned approx 50m from the Rosebank train station, and the same distance to the nearby mall (which is currently undergoing a big renovation). Great location, close to all sorts of good eating places (in particular, "Love and Pizza Rule the World"!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Many thanks for your very positive review of our hotel and I was pleased to note that everything was to your satisfaction. Our breakfast buffet in something that many of our guests look forward to during their stay and sets them on their day with a positive step. Our location to restaurants and shopping centres as well as The Gautrain Station is a unique selling point which draws many of our repeat guests as well as new corporate and leisure clients. We do hope to be of service to you when you are next in Johannesburg.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

You don't expect this from a Holiday Inn. i always have the misconception that most holiday inn are just like cheap place to stay overnight. but this one is simply exceptional. staff are great. very helpful. hotel absolutely clean and good size room. the breakfast is brilliant. load of variety. good location. the mall of rosebank is just below the hotel and even linked with stairs and lift.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I was delighted to read of your favourable experience at our hotel and many thanks for your great and succinct review. Our location to the train station and shopping centres are a unique selling point and it was gratifying to learn of your great expereince at our hotel. I will be passing your comments on to our team and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.