We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel had a very nice location being right by a shopping center. At first this worried me that it would be noisy, but it was not a problem at all. It was really nice to have a variety of restaurants in nearby if you choose not to eat at the hotel and many stores to shop in. It was also in a nicer part of Johannesburg and was very safe to walk around. Although, I still do not suggest walking around at night by yourself.

Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were in our room in under ten minutes and settling in. They even took our suitcases up for us.

Our room looked very nice and had a balcony. There wasn't much of a view from our balcony, but it was nice to be able to sit outside at night. My traveling partner did say that she saw a bug when she got up in the middle of the night on our floor which made me think it could have been a little bit cleaner. But overall, our accommodations were pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to note that the hotel exceeeded your expectations and that you were comfortable in your room and surrounds. Our location to the shopping centrees in Rosebank is a plus factor and allows private access to many retail stores and restaurants. Sincere apologies for the bug in your room, this has been immediately reported to our service providor for immediate attention. Thank you for your very positive comments about our team at the hotel which are greatly appreciated. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    91
    28
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
35
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice hotel in Rosebank area of Johannesburg, rooms a of fair size, very comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, view is great if u choose a high floor, breakfast good enough for business travelers. Coming from the airport you can take the train, connect one station and there you go. Fast clean and cheaper than taking a taxi. There is a mall next to it, under renovation but still good.

Room Tip: Take rooms with odd numbers, on the main road, but good soundproofing, but view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel. I was delighted to learn that you found our hotel comfortable and convenient and that the access to the shopping malls was a plus factor for you. Our location at the Rosebank Gautrain Station is a unique selling point and many of our corporate and leisure guests make use of this facility and in many instances do not require a vehicle at all during their stay in Rosebank. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I booked this hotel thru Priority Club's Pointbreaks thinking it would be a steal. And it was. The Rosebank location was perfect. The Zone (Mall) is steps away from the hotel with plenty of restaurants and nightlife. I had a mixed service with the hotel staff. The front desk crew seemed distant while the porters on the ground floor helped me out a lot with transportation and my heavy baggage. The room was modern with a waterfall shower in the bathroom. My traveling companion loved the shower.

Only downfall I can think of was the free internet (30 MB/day).

Overall a great hotel and will consider the HI Rosebank for my next trip to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel recently. I was very happy to learn that overall we exceeeded your expectations in terms of price and location. Many thanks for your constructive feedback on our team, which we will address immediately.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located next to the Rosebank shopping mall, close to Sasol and within 50m of the Gautrain. The hotel rooms are comfortable and the restaurant is very good. The staff were very friendly. The gym is very small but functional

Security in and around Joberg is not great but the Gautrain is very new and very secure, with loads of cameras and security staff on every train. So next time I travel there, rather than paying R400 for a taxi that takes over 30 minutes I will be taking the Gautrain (less than R100) which is just as fast! The advise I received was not to walk out at night but during the day Rosebank is safe to walk and I certainly found that to be the case. With the Holiday Inn literally next to the Gautrain station I will feel safe to walk from the station to the hotel.

Room Tip: Fifth floor and below even number can be a bit noisy from the aircon on the roof below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Many thanks for your review of our hotel recently. I was pleased to learn that you found all services and location in Rosebank to your satisfaction. Our proximity to the Gautrain Station is a value added benefit and a unique selling point for our hotel. Grateful thanks for your positive comments about our team at the hotel in making your stay with us a memorable one.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

People at the reception were very nice and helpful, tried to help us in everything we asked for.
But I can say the same about all the members of the staff I met during my short stay in the hotel. Especially the waiters.
The hotel rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast is great.
Location is also great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel and for the glowing compliments relating to our team members, especially the compliments about our reception staff. I was pleased to note that your stay was enjoyable and that you found our breakfast to your satisfaction. Our location to the Gautrain station and adjoining shopping centres and Mall's make us the first choice for many of our repeat customers.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Reliable, clean and convenient Holiday Inn Rosebank. This is my fourth stay here, the location next to the Gautrain station, and direct Rosebank and The Zone Mall access makes it a great place to stay in Johannesburg.
The room is comfortable, the breakfast in the hotel restaurant delicious, the staff are friendly and helpful. The front desk staff are always willing to assist with any requests.
A couple of times when I was in the room during the day someone (who did not identify themselves) tried to enter my room. Keep the door locked and the hasp on the door to prevent unexpected guests!
There are several restaurants outside in the mall. Karoo is very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel. I was pleased to learn that we are able to meet your requirements over several stays. Our team is empowered to ensure guest satisfaction and provide a seamless and enjoyable stay for all of our guests. I was perturbed to learn that people knocked on your door several times. Security for our guests is one of the most important features and to this end we have controlled access to bedroom floors as well as several bedroom door features which protect our guests. We look forward to being of service to you in the future during forthcoming stays at our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 for 3 weeks...First things first...it has one of the BEST locations....Rosebank is a great area in Joburg (Even better than the other Hip places like Melrose and Sandton because of the cooler crowd)...and the hotel is right on Oxford Road with a back access to Zone, Rosebank...so you can walk around in the Zone (for a party or dinner) and go back using the back door....in a place like JoBurg where you will be forewarned abt security (may be wrongly)....this is a GR88 thing for any foreginer....

Apart from this...it is located very close to the Gautrain station.....Add to that the nearby Cab station ...

As for the hotel, it's a new building...and the facilities were quite good...my only point around improvement would be around the attitude or lack of service mentality that I saw in few members...basically there was no "standard quality" of service...someday u would love it and other days it would be pathetic....I expected HIGH and CONSISTENT standards from Holiday Inn...and thats something they could work on further...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconsistent service that you experience. This valuable feedback will be used to correct the areas where we have let you down.
I was pleased to note your comments about our location and proximity to the Gautrain Station and Shopping Centres and that you found these convenient and easy to access from our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.