We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Must stay. Best Location. New. Clean.friendly. Value for money.Home from home. Shall go again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow. Must stay. Best Location. New. Clean.friendly. Value for money.Home from home. Shall go again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We retargeted our weekend booking. to the Holiday Inn Rosebank. Thursday 15 to Sunday 18 Nov.2012 after reading the long review of the UK visitor.

In short. The best Hotel to stay at.

We arrived late with Avis rental from Joh'burg International Airport. Use Google maps. Holiday Inn Johannesburg. Oxford Road. Suggest TripAdvisor switch from Microsoft maps to Google.

The large street entrance rollergates were closed.Friendly guard advised we park outside.book in and then drive into underground parking.

Best is to enter underground parking. FIRST. Turn sharp left and drive towards small Holiday Inn lift door.Take parking ticket with. for validation at receiption to be able to leave parking area.

Suggest that the Hotel puts up more signs at entrance boom...DO NOT use underground lifts..they go to the Zone Mall ! Look for small, entrance door.Green Holiday Inn sign..Left Oxford road side.
We got lost late night..taking lifts to Mall.
Firstly..congratulations to Holiday Inn. The fragrant StarWalker plants at their elevator room..was a welcome special touch.

The parking lift goes to the 2nd floor receiption.Book in.get room card and the use the lifts to the rooms. They only work with valid room card.great security.

We had a superb late night dinner at the pool. Cudo's to the Chef and friendly.efficient waiters. Lamb ; Line Fish ; dessert. wine list were out of this world.

We had asked for a quiet room away from the aircon building. as per review from the UK. Only room 312 was available..directly above Aircon Building.

Turned out to be no problem.It was so hot and humid we slept with our aircon on.
The room Queen size bed and bedding. New. fresh. clean. bright.wonderful rest.

Best of all.Room was cleaned and restocked. daily..without us ever seeing the most efficient cleaning staff . Well Done.
The green under washbasin night light..quite pleasing to the eye and ambiance. Would have liked a second chair for the table?

Breakfast is a must- have treat. The daily fresh fruit buffet..never had a yesterday left over.Waiters and staff. Clean, friendly.attentive. unobtrusive.
At the buffet serving area.See through glass wall to clean kitchen, speaks volumes of the Highest quality Holiday Inn is sure of reproducing.

Our appointments were delayed on Sunday.We asked whether we could extend the checkout time
to 12:30..'Jack amd the Beanstalk'
No problem. Our room cards were re activa
t..a. delighted on our return.Freshened up.booked out..All with a no. problem. can do . no stress. relax..attitude .
My wife has already suggested a return visit..Using the Gautrain from the Airport to the Holiday. Inn Doorstep

By the way:
..Do see the Pantomime 'Jack and the Beanstalk' a delightful fun production .Civic Theater .

All in all.. Best Hotel to relax and rest at.





  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed review about your resent stay at the Holiday Inn. It was extremely pleasing to find that your stay with us was most enjoyable and that you found our services and standards satisfying in your bedroom as well as dining in the restaurant. We will ensure that extra signage is erected in the garage parking so that many other guests do not have the problem of find the entrance as you did on your first visit. We do hope that you return to the Holiday Inn in the near future and look forward to being of futher service and thank you once again for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    94
    28
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
35
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in a safe area with shops and restaurants literally a few steps away from the hotel - then this is where you should stay!
The hotel sits adjacent to 2 shopping malls, and there are several good restaurant of all budgets to choose from. If you would like to relax at the hotel they have a small outdoor pool at the back, good for spending a few hours.
The hotel itself was spotless and rooms were fresh, I think it must be newly built as it felt very "new" all over (in a good way!).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Rosebank, The Holiday Inn is situated in the perfect position to the Gautrain and the direct access to the Zone at Rosebank and this offers a safer alternative than having to travel around Johannesburg. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next vistit to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wanted to redeem my Points and decided to stay my last day in Joburg at the Holiday Inn Rosebank
Well located , on top of the Zone shopping mall and few steps away from the Rosebank mall
No club floor and no suits but the rooms are nice and well decorated
Nice breakfast
overall experiences - very good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and writing the rewiew on our hotel and that your stay with us was satisfactory. We do hope that when you are visiting Johannesburg again that we can be of service to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in a while, since I usually stay at the HI in Sandown. Expecting a similar if not better experience, I was let down. Very little recognition of Priority status upon check in and during stay, so don't expect much. The hotel is attached to the Zone shopping centre, which is good for bars and amenities, however the room I had was overlooking the main street of the Zone and was very noisy, especially as it was Heritage Day. Rooms are quite small and this was supposed to have been one of the better rooms. I had to reset TV and search for channels every day, which was quite annoying as the TV would stick on one channel.

Amenities: Don't think you are going to have a swim in the pool - it is more decorative than functional. Service at poolside was non existing and I had to constantly walk in to the bar. Breakfast was ok, but quite limited. Nice Omelette making station and personnel friendly. Hotel bar very small and the hotel can seem quite claustrophobic after a couple of days. Wifi - quite good that it is free to all, but only 30MB per day and only other option is to buy, no conventions or benefits for priority members........... unlike all other HI hotels in SA and generally worldwide.

All in all, ok, but for a 7 day stay, it just didn't meet my expectations. Which is a pity as I travel often to SA and I like the Rosebank area. My suggestion would be to check out the Sandton HI, which for similar pricing is much more modern, better equipped, with much better breakfast and pool/services well in advance of this HI.

I did speak with the duty manager on a couple of occasions to try and resolve some of my disappointments, answer - I will inform the manager, who never contacted me or was any feedback provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the Zone street if you dont want noise. Also lower level rooms better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Many thanks for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations and would like to offer my sincere aplogies for the areas that we have let you down. All the points that you have mentioned will be actioned immediately and where possible rectified.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Rosebank quite a few times now when I'm in Johannesburg on business.

The room rates are good compared to nearby hotels and the location is convenient for both the local mall with a good selection of restaurants and of course the Guatrain to and from the airport.

Breakfast is also a treat, with the restaurant staff doing a great job.

What let my stay down this time was a lack of hot water. I informed the front desk when I left for dinner, staggered into bed after a very long day at work later that night and then found that there was still no hot water the next morning.

I'm not a pampered traveller, but hot water is pretty high on my scale of must haves..

Room Tip: Try getting one with hot water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay and that overall you found everything to your satisfaction, especially access to the Gautrain and surrounding areas. Thank you also for your comment regarding our breakfast. My sincere apologies for the problem that you encountered with hot water. This has been investigated and and in line heater was found to be faulty, which has since been rectified.
We do hope we can be of service to you in the future and looke forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Although quit modest compare to Hyatt next door or crown plaza, butbgoog rooms, excellent location ( on the mall at train station) , helpfull staff
The room facing the road are noisy, I insisted and got a rear room but it was on noisy hvac equipment
There is no spa in the hotel and a very small gym room

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the road and far away from the noisy hvac equipment on top of the mall roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Many thanks for your comprehensive review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was
pleased to note your satisfaction with our location and most of our services offered. My sincere apologies for the problems you encountered with your room and from the feedback received from yourself, these will be dealt with immediately. In particular I was perturbed to learn that there was an smell of cigarettes in the room and this issue has already been dealt with and the particular room deep cleaned and deodoroised.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pluses:
- price was right - used Priority Club award!
- great location 50m from Gautrain, which takes you to/from airport
- adjacent to hugh shopping mall with lots of restaurants
- new - built for 2010 soccer world cup
- free breakfast, at least with our rate
Minuses:
- small guest rooms
- some things don't work (two lights were out, drain in shower was slow, sylilsh shower fixture was difficult to figure out and sprayed cold water on both me and my traveling companion
- for some reason they put the hair drier by the small desk in the bedroom, so that became the vanity, precluding other uses
- bed was hard
- nonsmoking room had been smoked in bathroom

Room Tip: Check that room doesn't smell smoky before settling in. Change room if it does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Many thanks for your succinct review of our hotel during your recent stay. It is pleasing to note that you found our location to the surrounding area to be convenient and helpful with access to the Gautrain and the adjoining shopping centre. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the maintenance issues that you experienced which have all been rectified since reading your review. The particular room has also been deep cleaned and the smell of smoke has been removed.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.